Miracle Matcha Tea

I’ve tried and tried again to get into green tea.  I made a comment on Facebook, and friends came flooding to make recommendations.  People wouldn’t just let me get away with not liking green tea (I’m sorry, but it tastes like pond water!)

Green Tea has many health benefits, so as ever, I am persevering – I WILL like it!!!

  • Green tea is high in flavanols (catechins) which are thought to be the anti-cancer compound in green tea.
  • It is anti-fungal and anti-bacterial
  • It is lower in caffeine than regular black tea

As Angela at Oh She Glows explains, Japanese Green Tea is generally higher in EGCG (epigallocatechin gallate – !!!!).  EGCG has the highest anti-cancer activity of all.

Green Tea Matcha Powder

Green Tea Powder

First I tried Sencha Green Tea from Asda – not bad, but I read good things about Matcha Tea.  Heralded as a superfood, it’s a Green Tea made using the whole tea leaves which are ground down to make a a fine powder. The tea plants are grown under cover to produce lots of amino acids and chlorophyll.  The benefits of Matcha green tea include:

  • 1 serving = 15 cups of normal green tea
  • can boost metabolism
  • high in antioxidants – matcha contains 70x the antioxidants of orange juice, 9x the betacarotene – converts to vitamin A – and vitamin C and B vitamins
  • raises energy
Matcha, green tea, tea pigs

Tea Pigs Matcha Tea

Tea Pigs Matcha Tea is an award winning Matcha Tea, which you add to, well, whatever you like.  Matcha is traditionally drunk whisked into hot water as a green tea.  But Tea Pigs also recommend adding it to your favourite drink such as milk, fruit juice, smoothies etc.

Green tea, almond milk, superfood

Matcha, almond milk shot

I’ve tried a couple of Matcha shots, adding half a teaspoon to orange juice or almond milk.  I think I made a mistake by adding the matcha on top of the juice and so it didn’t blend well, but it’s still really strong.  It rather reminds me of the taste of seaweed, sort of like nori.

Matcha green tea orange juice shot

Matcha, orange juice shot

The best way I’ve tried it is to blend it into a green smoothie – one I’ve tried which I like lately:
  • 1/2 teaspoon of matcha tea powder ‘dissolved’ into half a mug of freshly boiled water
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of protein powder, I used a chocolate version
  • 1 small banana about 75g
  • 1 handful of baby spinach, about 50g
  • toppings and garnishes

stick it all in a blender and whizz to a consistency you prefer.  I make it the night before and leave it to cool in the fridge overnight.

Green tea green smoothie

Green Tea Smoothie

Do you like green tea?  How do you drink yours?  How can I make myself actually enjoy the taste?  Tips gratefully received…

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Miracle Matcha Tea

  1. […] back to my Matcha post to see how to make this delicious smoothie, topped with cinnamon and granola clusters!  […]

  2. […] I read about it on Deliciously Ella a couple of weeks ago.  At the time I was drinking my Matcha Green Tea smoothies but the idea stuck with me.  No reason I couldn’t have the nutritional benefits of […]

  3. […] Miracle Matcha Tea (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] (up to and including 3rd July 2013) to be entered to win a 2g sample of the Teapigs Matcha Tea I reviewed.  The winner will be picked at random on the 4th July and notified through […]

  5. […] already posted the health benefits of green tea, but a quick run down […]

  6. […] Don’t forget that today is the last day to enter the competition to win a Matcha green tea sample.  Pop along and like my Facebook It Comes Naturally Blog page, click here.   To read about the benefits of matcha see my Miracle Matcha post. […]

  7. […] Miracle Matcha Tea […]

  8. […] Miracle Matcha Tea […]

  9. Allison January 9, 2014 at 9:07 am Reply

    We whizz up one banana, one apple and one pear and top up with skimmed milk, plus the matcha shot of course. Whizz all that up and you get a nice green smoothie that is incredibly refreshing. And crucially you can’t taste the matcha! Give it a go – I guarantee you’ll love it (and it’s 3 of your 5 a day right there).

    • Emily Hawkes January 9, 2014 at 9:10 am Reply

      Sounds good, but I don’t think my blender would cope well with the apple. I’m not a fan of a chunky smoothie…

  10. Green Tea | it comes naturally blog January 13, 2014 at 5:57 am Reply

    […] written about my struggles with trying to like the stuff before.  It’s so good for you, but I couldn’t appreciate the flavour – it tastes like […]

  11. […] day we were having a conversation about green tea, and my colleague hadn’t tried Matcha, so I took her in a […]

  12. […] tsp matcha powder (I used […]

  13. […] how – Green smoothie with a green tea on the side – the smears on the mug?  This is matcha green tea.  In my smoothie: Spinach, green grapes, 1/2 banana, kefir, chia seeds, spirulina and […]

  14. […] I enjoy unsweetened almond milk and usually have a carton or two in the fridge (ok, 4 at last count) but I really enjoyed this brown rice milk.  It’s sweeter and somewhat richer than the almond milk – Perfect for a cocoa or a delicious matcha latte! […]

  15. […] Miracle Matcha Tea […]

  16. […] prep for the week. I was pretty hungry so I had a bit of a nibble here and there before making a matcha latte and having a sit down before I made […]

Leave a comment