What I ate Wednesday #10

Monday was, of course St Patrick’s Day, so I pledged to eat everything green – for the whole day.  Which I thought would make a great What I ate Wednesday post. I love a challenge 🙂

I’m actually English, so why celebrate the Irish Saint – well, because I love a challenge – didn’t I just say that.

Shh…it’s a secret – one of those skeletons in the closet – but I think there is some Irish blood in the family a few generations ago…

Anyways…to the food!

Green, St Patrick's Day, What I ate Wednesday, WIAW

What I ate Wedneday #10

  • I started the day the best green way I know how – Green smoothie with a green tea on the side – the smears on the mug?  This is matcha green tea.  In my smoothie: Spinach, green grapes, 1/2 banana, kefir, chia seeds, spirulina and lucuma. It was actually really good.
  • A few hours later I had a second ‘breakfast’.  A small bowl of porridge made with unsweetened almond milk with a bit of spinach thrown in to make it green.
  • For lunch I made egg white wraps – the first time I’ve tried it, and they were really great made in my new frying pan.  Simply egg whites (from a carton) with a heaped teaspoon of coconut flour, and some low fat pesto stirred in – though it flavoured it nicely it didn’t add the green I was hoping for 😦  I filled my wraps with quinoa mixed with tenderstem broccoli and steamed asparagus.  I really liked these, and will make again!  To follow I had an apple (I considered buying a green apple for the occasion, but just used what I had, it had patches of green on it!) and some plain yogurt which I coloured with spirulina 🙂
  • As a snack before my gym session I had a matcha protein fudge bar.
  • For dinner I made courgette noodles, brown rice spaghetti and peas in an avocado sauce – simply avocado, cottage cheese and nutritional yeast – one of my favourites!

It was quite fun for a challenge – but I prefer to taste a rainbow!

What are your favourite green foods?  What have you been eating lately?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #10

  1. ranchcookie March 19, 2014 at 9:36 am Reply

    I love broccoli, spinach and brussel sprouts ! And I have been eating all of them lately haha

    • Emily Hawkes March 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm Reply

      Mmm…I eat spinach daily, broccoli a few times a week, and brussels rarely becasue my husband doesn’t like them. Bring on more brussels!

  2. brokencookiesdontcount March 19, 2014 at 11:40 am Reply

    That’s a lot of green! Everything looks delicious!

    • Emily Hawkes March 19, 2014 at 2:13 pm Reply

      Thank you. My mission was to get in as much green as possible 🙂

  3. Sally Rae March 19, 2014 at 6:32 pm Reply

    So much green! The pasta looks amazing!

  4. zoetcm March 20, 2014 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Nice challenge! I love matcha flavoured things too 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes March 20, 2014 at 1:09 pm Reply

      It’s always fun to throw in a challenge and change things up a bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

