Quinoa Granola

quinoa granola

quinoa granola

“I’ve got a jar of di-irt, I’ve got a jar of di-irt”

Ok, so it’s not a jar of dirt, it’s a jar of homemade granola, but that’s what it made me think of 🙂 I’m not going to tell you where that quote is from, but meet the challenge, and comment below…

So anyway, this granola. I was inspired by Angela from Oh She Glows who posted a recipe for Blissful Buckwheat Granola Clusters.

I tried the recipe with buckwheat groats and it was great – see my blog about buckwheat pasta which talks about the health benefits of buckwheat – but it got me thinking, what else could I use to make granola?  So I thought I would give quinoa granola a go, and I’m glad I did!

Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa) has recently been touted as a new superfood.  Now I think all natural (within reason) food is super, but here are the healthy credentials behind quinoa:

  • Although used as a grain, it is actually a seed.
  • It is high in protein, and is a complex carbohydrate.
  • It is a complete protein, containing all of the essential amino acids.  Essential because the human body needs them, but cannot create them from other things.
  • It contains calcium, magnesium, iron and fibre.

To cook, simply take two parts water to one part quinoa.  Bring to the boil and simmer until cooked.  You can tell it is cooked when the germ separates from the seed.  It looks like a little tail comes out of the seed 🙂

Quinoa granola

Ingredients:

  • 100g (raw weight) quinoa
  • 50g pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 40g sugar of choice – I used unrefined caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp apple and pear 100% fruit spread
  • 40g cut comb honey (you can sub maple syrup or brown rice syrup to keep it vegan)
  • 3 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  1. Preheat oven to 150C and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the quinoa, pumpkin seeds, cinnamon, salt and sugar.
  3. In a smaller bowl, mix the fruit spread, maple syrup, almond butter and vanilla bean paste. Combine the two bowls and mix thoroughly to coat. It will be quite dark because of the fruit spread, take note of that at this stage.
  4. Pop in the oven for 20 minutes, break it up into clusters and pop back in for 15-20 minutes. Do keep an eye on it, I had my oven a bit hotter so the edges did catch and I had to chuck that out, hopefully the cooler temperature should deal with that.
  5. Cool completely on the pan and then eat/store. It is lovely scattered over your breakfast smoothie.
quinoa, pumpkin seeds, cinnamon

quinoa granola dry ingredients

I had to restrain myself not to eat it like this:

quinoa granola pre-baked

quinoa granola pre-baked

Or this!  Out of focus but still tasty!

green smoothie with quinoa granola

ooh, its oozing – lovely!

Check back to my Matcha post to see how to make this delicious smoothie, topped with cinnamon and granola clusters!  Bliss!

Have you tried quinoa?  Did you know how to pronounce it?  Had to keep telling Mum – no it’s not “quin-o-a” 🙂  Did you get the quote referenced above?

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Quinoa Granola

  1. monstershark June 5, 2013 at 9:01 am Reply

    Looks lovely Emily. I went through a quinoa phase a while back and still have some hiding in the cupboard. Love granola, so this may be the perfect recipe.

    • Emily Hawkes June 7, 2013 at 7:24 am Reply

      I think it is more of a ‘topper’ than something I would have on its own with milk, but let me know what you think.

  2. […] just as a break from rice, for a change.  I outlined the nutritional benefits of quinoa in my quinoa granola post.  I put the quinoa on first, but I think it would have been better done the other way, thus […]

  3. Jenny June 10, 2013 at 6:13 pm Reply

    Looks yummy! I love quinoa. Not sure I’ll have time to make it, but will try. Busy making purée baby food! 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes June 11, 2013 at 7:32 am Reply

      No, I don’t think the little man is quite ready for the crunchy-chewy-ness of granola yet 🙂 Let me know when you’re in the neighbourhood and I’ll do some for you 😀

  4. […] the week…I’ve come up with a new granola recipe – all on my own.  After all my quinoa granola was gone I was umming and ahhing about whether I wanted to make buckwheat, amaranth, or regular oat […]

  5. […] I still had some rhubarb, and strawberries and rhubarb are almost as good as strawberries and cream, so I knew I would be on to a winner!  I thought I would change things up by using quinoa rather than oats in this breakfast extravaganza.  We all know the nutritional benefits of quinoa, if not check it out on this blog post. […]

  6. […] or quinoa granola. […]

Leave a Reply

