Lent Day 7

Day 7.  I tried to do a good thing today. It was only a small thing and I wasn’t sure I handled it correctly, but it went ok.

I was at the train station walking to my platform when I noticed a little lad and his Mum. He was carrying a rucksack in his hand, and she was clearly distracted looking for the platform they wanted.  He put his bag down, only for a brief second, as his Mum paused to check the platform numbers. As she moved off he reached for the bag, but it was just too far.  The Mum didn’t look down, and I’m sure she thought he was just being difficult by pulling away from her. As I approached I bent down and handed the boy his bag.  I could have said something, but they were clearly in a rush and the explanation would only hold them up longer.

Now, to someone who hadn’t seen the situation unfold, I worried that it might look suspicious that I was handing something to the boy. The Mum could have looked down and wondered what I was doing. As the song goes “no good deed goes unpunished”.  Thankfully they went their way and I went mine.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a comment