Rude Health Brown Rice Drink: Review

Rude Health, rice milk, rice drink, brown rice

Rude Health brown rice drink

Since dipping my toe in the vegan water I think I have been missing milk in my hot drinks most.  I’ve given up drinking tea, but found that I like coffee with unsweetened almond milk.

I enjoy unsweetened almond milk and usually have a carton or two in the fridge (ok, 4 at last count) but I really enjoyed this brown rice milk.  It’s sweeter and somewhat richer than the almond milk – Perfect for a cocoa or a delicious matcha latte!

pumpkin, hot chocolate, cocoa, cacao, breakfast

Pumpkin hot chocolate

I love the simple ingredient list: Natural spring water, organic Italian brown rice (14%), organic cold-pressed sunflower oil, sea salt. but I contacted them to ask why sunflower oil was added to the rice drink. And despite the fact that they are a small team, I got a reply:

“We have used cold-pressed sunflower oil simply as an emulsifier, to prevent the drinks from separating.”
So there you go 🙂  They market themselves on being:
“100% natural, organic ingredients, with no thickeners, sweeteners or artificial anythings.”
You can  count the ingredients on one hand and won’t see anything you don’t recognise.”
they also make an Oat Drink and Almond Drink, which you can get from Waitrose, Sainsburys, online at Ocado and a number of independent health stores.
Have you tried non-dairy milks?  What are your favourites?  Have you tried making your own?
Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Rude Health Brown Rice Drink: Review

  1. The Awed Duck April 15, 2014 at 2:18 pm Reply

    I haven’t tried the brown rice milk. I have tried the unsweetened almond milk and I love it! I also tried coconut milk but I was not a huge fan. It was too sweet for me. I’ll have to try the rice milk though, looks good!

Leave a Reply

