What I ate Wednesday #19, food prep

Happy Hump Day!

This week I recorded my eats on Sunday, so this week’s blog post is a follow on from Monday’s Food Prep blog 🙂

The weekend was a bit hectic – don’t get me wrong, it was fun, but just a bit crazy.

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, Food Prep, Food Preparation

WIAW

After about 5 hours sleep after a late night, I woke up and went and made breakfast.  We hadn’t had time to do any food shopping, so breakfast was banana porridge with a sprinkle of lime flavoured raisins (why do they have to be flavoured – raisin flavour is fine!) and some cacao nibs sprinkled over.

I chilled out for a bit before I took Ben breakfast in bed to get him up and ready to go swimming.

After swimming we went and grabbed a coffee at Costa – you can see I have already started digging into my soya cappuccino 🙂

We had a birthday lunch date at the Steam Packet Inn, so we had to dash off after coffee to get some food shopping as the cupboards were bare and the shops shut early on Sunday.

We arrived early and enjoyed sitting in the sun while waiting for the crowd to arrive.  When it came to ordering I had the butternut squash and sweet potato soup, but I only nibbled the bread – I gave the rest to Ben.  I also swiped a bit of Ben’s tomato salsa, which was really nice.

We went for a gorgeous walk along the River Dart before we went home.

River Dart

River Dart

I put the shopping away, and did some meal prep for the week. I was pretty hungry so I had a bit of a nibble here and there before making a matcha latte and having a sit down before I made dinner.

I used some of the farro batch to make a nourish bowl, with tempeh, mushrooms, spinach and some chopped carrot, with a dash of balsamic vinegar – yum!

Do you do advanced meal preparation?  What are your easiest things for batch cooking, or making in advance?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #19, food prep

  1. catfoodisgoodforyou May 21, 2014 at 7:38 pm Reply

    I wish I could be better with food prep – it would make the week a lot easier! Though, I love cooking from scratch when I have the time – it’s so therapeutic for me. My slow cooker was a godsend – big tasty meals that I can eat for days – that counts as food prep, right?!

    • Emily Hawkes May 22, 2014 at 7:59 am Reply

      Slow cooker meals definitely count as meal prep! I love my slow cooker 🙂

  2. Jess May 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm Reply

    I’m a big fan of advance meal prep. Usually I’ll take an hour or two on a day I have the time to roast a bunch of veggies, make some protein and/or grains, along with a few other things it will be good to have on hand later in the week. Helps me stay sane.

    • Emily Hawkes May 23, 2014 at 7:24 am Reply

      It’s great when you can find time to get food prep done 🙂

Leave a Reply

