Top 10 smoothie ingredients

Green smoothies, green smoothie, green monsterOh yeah!  I like a green smoothie!  I don’t care what they say, I say green is good!  I thought I would do a round up of some of the things I love to add to my smoothies.  This is by no means a definitive list, and I change my favourites regularly.  In fact, I encourage you to change it up regularly – variety is the spice of life and all that!  But on a more practical note:  eat a variety of foods for good health!!!

It’s in no particular order, and I’m not suggesting you use them all at once. Change up your smoothies, try something new and get some powerful nutrients in you!  I love mine for breakfast!

Top 10 Green Smoothie ingredients

10. Matcha Green Tea

Green Tea Matcha Powder

Green Tea Powder

I’ve already posted the health benefits of green tea, but a quick run down here.

9. Spirulina

Deliciously Ella persuaded me to try this one.  It doesn’t add too much flavour to my smoothies, but does add a hefty dose of nutrition.

spirulina powder

8. Coconut Water

I really like this pineapple one as reviewed earlier.coconut water7. Bananas

These have to be my favourite smoothie fruit!  I know some people don’t like spotty bananas, but I think they are perfect to sweeten my smoothies and give a creamy texture!

bananas

Nice and spotty – yumm!

6. Melon

Melon is a close second when it comes to fruit for a smoothie.  Not as sweet as banana (especially those spotty ones) but full a high water content – nice and hydrating.  If you freeze it you get a slushie consistency.

Cantaloupe melon

Not a bowling ball – cantaloupe melon

Ben kindly bought me this one as a treat (he doesn’t eat any fruit – that he knows of mwa ha ha) The conversation went something like this, bearing in mind I hadn’t cut into it yet:

B: Did you see the melon I bought you
E: Yes, thank you
B: It’s a good melon, isn’t it!!
E: Erm, it’s a melon…

Maybe I should have been more grateful – Yes, it is a beautiful melon, just look at those lines!  Hmm…

5. Spinach

Spinach is my favourite green to add to smoothies, it isn’t too strongly tasting, and it breaks down so you aren’t as likely to end up chewing on a fibrous stem – not good!

spinach

4. Other greens

Notable mention should go to kale and romaine lettuce though.  I posted about romaine lettuce in one of my first blogs.  Kale smoothies are a big thing in the USA.

kale, kohlrabi, chard

kale and chard

3. Protein powder

Protein powder of your choice, sometimes I like chocolate, strawberry or vanilla.  Adds sweetness and a hit of protein first thing in your day.  Vegan or otherwise the choice is yours.  Kathy as Healthy. Happy. Life has a great post about vegan protein powders, but be aware she is in the USA so recommended products may not be as easily available in the UK.

2. Berries

strawberries in kale

Strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, other-berries, I don’t mind.  I usually avoid mixing fruits, because I once read that it can increase the chances of ‘digestive troubles’ (ok, ok, wind) because different fruits ferment at different speeds.  But berries are great because they aren’t too sweet, and they are low in fructose – the ‘bad’ part of sugar.  I won’t give you a run down now, save that for another day.

1. Water

You can use milk, non-dairy milk, coconut water, yoghurt, herbal tea, but nothing is as easy as using good old fashioned water as a liquid base for smoothies.  It is hydrating, cheap and doesn’t distract from the taste of other ingredients.

green smoothie in a jar with buckwheat crispbread, peanut butter and jam

another green smoothie

So that’s my top 10 – what are your favourite smoothie ingredients?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Top 10 smoothie ingredients

  1. […] 3. Gently pour off the water into a separate container.  This is great in my sweet and sour, or in a smoothie. […]

Leave a comment