Strawberries and ‘Cream’ cake: egg-free, vegan,

So I’ve learned something new, it’s Vegan Pizza day today.  Maybe I can come up with something between now and dinner tonight… While I’m on the subject, it’s American Independence Day on Thursday, and Ben wants ‘traditional Independence Day food’.  I don’t really know where to start.  Please leave me some recommendations in the comments box below – or tell me on my Facebook Page. Who knows, your recipe might feature on our dinner table, and subsequently on this blog next week!

So, this strawberries and ‘cream’ cake.  I was asked by a friend if I knew a recipe for an egg-free, nut-free cake which still tasted delicious.  I knew the places to look, and came across this fab vegan chocolate cake recipe by Angela from Oh She Glows.

I tested the recipe, and (of course) the cakes were fabulous.  But then I decided I wanted to make them ‘my own’.  Inspired by Wimbledon, and the strawberries I had leftover from my breakfasts I decided to make a strawberries and cream version.  Don’t you love the tradition and ceremony of Wimbledon?  It would be perfect to have ‘afternoon tea’ with this ‘cream’ cake.

vegan strawberries and cream cake

vegan strawberries and cream cake

Without the 1/3 cup of cocoa, I had to replace it with something else.  Because I didn’t mind about having nuts in this recipe, I used ground almonds which added a nice nutty flavour and consistency without being overpowering.  I used wholegrain Kamut Khorasan flour for this cake.  It produced a dense, but still light and delicious cake.  Kamut Khorasan is an ancient form of wheat (it was grown for the Pharaohs) which is lower in gluten, and has higher protein (15%) content than wheat flour.  It also has almost 10g of fibre per 100g which sounded good to me.  The flour absorbs more liquid, so you will need more than Angela’s recipe.

Vegan Strawberries and ‘Cream’ cake

For the cake

  • 300-350ml non-dairy milk – I used unsweetened almond milk
  • 70g coconut oil
  • 175g soft brown sugar
  • 1tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • seeds from 1/2 vanilla pod – use the other half in the coconut cream
  • 190g kamut flour
  • 35g almonds
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt, to taste (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 180C, prepare a 20cm cake tin
  2. Add 300ml non-dairy milk, coconut oil, sugar, cider vinegar and vanilla to a food processor and blend until combined
  3. Sift in the flour, almonds, baking soda and salt (if using) give it a few ‘blitzes’ until combined.  Don’t over-beat or you risk cakes becoming tough.
  4. If it is too thick add in the rest of the milk – it will be the consistency of a regular  sponge mixture.
  5. Bake in the oven for approx 45 minutes until the cake springs back with gently pressed – don’t burn yourself on the oven!
  6. Remove and cool completely.

To assemble

  • 1 recipe of coconut whipped cream – Angela at Oh She Glows has a great step-by-step tutorial
  • No sugar jam – mash strawberries and add chia seeds to thicken to a jam consistency
  • Strawberries to decorate

Make the sponge

vanilla vegan sponge

make the sponge

Assemble

vegan vanilla sponge no added sugar jam

with no added sugar strawberry jam

When cool, cut in half and fill with no added sugar jam and half the whipped coconut cream.  Place the other half back on top, and decorate with the rest of the whipped cream and reserved strawberries.

The strawberries were still good after being wrapped in the kale leaf 🙂

strawberries in kale

strawberries still in kale

Enjoy as a nice afternoon tea while watching Wimbledon.

Come on, what shall I make for Independence Day – suggestions please…

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Strawberries and ‘Cream’ cake: egg-free, vegan,

  1. […] spelt flour, these are not gluten free.  But as I outlined before it has many nutritional […]

Leave a Reply

