What I ate Wednesday #14

b8938-wiawserveupanextracupbuttonIt’s Wednesday! And even better than Wednesday is that it’s a short week, followed by a long weekend – oh how I need that!

Looking forward to Easter, but a bit concerned about the vegan eating bit – especially as we are eating out to celebrate my sister’s birthday on Sunday.

But enough about concerns about the future – what about What I ate Wednesday – another Monday of eats for me ๐Ÿ™‚

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday

What I ate Wednesday 14

  • Breakfast: I started my Monday with a delicious smoothie.ย  I went to a new local health food shop with my Mum at the weekend, and we both bought a box of fresh dates.ย  So, my Monday smoothie, inspired by Deliciously Ella was banana, dates, raw cacao and Inspiral banana Supergreen bites sprinkled over the top.ย  I love my Inspiral goodies – next on my list are their crackits, and Berry cheesecake dessert pot – wow!
  • Snack:ย Another discovery this weekend was Amazake – fermented grain dessert.ย  It’s all creamy but dairy free.ย  I used to love a yogurt everyday, so this is happily replacing that at the moment. I had some as a mid morning snack.ย  This was the Oat Amazake, looking forward to trying the other flavours!
  • Lunch: I made a quinoa salad with tempeh, steamed broccoli, raw carrot and chickpeas.ย  Drizzled with balsamic vinegar.
  • Snack: before I went home I ate a slice of Everfresh sprouted wheat bread with carrot and raisin spread with cashew nut butter – yum!
  • Dinner: After the gym and x-biking I came home and had homemade vegan sweet potato gnocchi.ย  I was concerned it wouldn’t work very well, but I was really pleased with how they turned out.ย  I’ll have to do a post on these.ย  I served them with an avocado and cucumber sauce over steamed kale – yum!

I can’t help but feel I am relying on shop bought foods – superfood bites, bread and amazake.ย  I guess it’s not too much on this day – what do you think?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #14

  1. ranchcookie April 16, 2014 at 10:57 am Reply

    Oh no way! I think it’s totally fine to eat shop bought foods everyday as long as it’s a mixture of the two ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep hearing about these dates in smoothies too! Thanks for reminding me to try it out soon!

    • Emily Hawkes April 17, 2014 at 7:14 am Reply

      I only bought them because they were selling off – it was definitely worth it! I think you are right about the shop bought goods. I tend to overthink things!

  2. Marnie @ SuperSmartMama April 16, 2014 at 7:18 pm Reply

    That Amazake sounds interesting! I’m going to have to see if I can find it here in Colorado!

    • Emily Hawkes April 17, 2014 at 7:15 am Reply

      If it’s made it to Devon, it’s got to have made it everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sending my hubby on a mission to find the millet version – I’ll have to let you know how it goes ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Mr. Pennyworth April 16, 2014 at 7:21 pm Reply

    Interesting post. I think that I’m going to have to start keeping a log of what I eat.

    Anyway, cool blog. I’m really enjoying it.

  4. Katie G (@cakevscales) April 16, 2014 at 7:27 pm Reply

    Right I’m just about to google a recipe for sweet potato gnocchi – That sounds incredible!
    Also I love deliciously Ella and her recipes are often perfect, plus she comes across as such a wonderful person..
    Don’t worry about the shop brought foods..it’s all about balance ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Emily Hawkes April 17, 2014 at 7:16 am Reply

      It was great, and a lot easier than I thought it would be! Thanks for the support on shop bought foods – I think you’re right, I just tend to get a *little* obsessive at times ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment