WIAW #40

Hey hey! Happy Hump Day!  It’s so close to Christmas I can almost taste it… just 3 days of work to go!!

As you will have seen I have been to many parties lately, with Christmas coming and Ben’s 30th last weekend it’s been a party riot.  So what have I been eating? Well, I’ve not been consistent with taking photos – sometimes the food is so good it makes me forget to be a good blogger 🙂 But here’s a ‘taste’ for What I ate WednesdayWIAWwiawStarting at the top left, and working clockwise:

Goats cheese salad: On Monday I had lunch with the Synrgy girls.  We do an early exercise class a few times a week before work, so we had a Christmas come leaving lunch.  The goats cheese ‘burger’ was supposed to be served in a brioche bap, but I asked for it as a salad: lettuce, grilled red pepper (well, warm red pepper), tomato and red onion, oh, and Hannah’s gherkin 🙂

Chinese hot pot: One of our work Christmas meals was a Chinese hot pot, you can see the pot in the photo on the right.  We took our ingredients from a couple of refridgerators, and cooked it in a pot or either spicy or plain (flavoured) stock shared between 3 or 4 people.  It was a new experience, but I’m not sure I’m keen to repeat the experience. In the picture you’ll see a tofu-fish stick and a piece of fresh tofu with greens, cooked in a spicy water.

Melon: At Ben’s birthday I started with melon with a winterberry sauce.  I went on to have turkey with veg and a taste of Christmas pudding.

Salmon salad: For our friend’s surprise birthday lunch I ordered the warm salmon salad with roasted red peper (this one WAS cooked), mushrooms and grilled broccoli.  There was lots of cheese, I didn’t eat all of that.

Hake tapas and side salad: I didn’t want too much for another work lunch as I knew I was going out (for the Chinese hot pot) in the evening, so I ordered the Oven-baked Cornish hake with herb crust and a butterbean and red pepper stew and I had the side salad to increase my veggies – yum!!

I didn’t order this, but it was too pretty not to take a photo:

104_0578The House Sharer: Crème brûlée, malted barley poached pear, lemon syllabub, treacle tart, Glensown Farm ice cream cookie sandwich.

How many parties have you been to? How many do you have left to come?

Have you ever tried Chinese Hot Pot?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “WIAW #40

  1. athleticavocado December 18, 2014 at 1:56 pm Reply

    yum! love salmon!

    • Emily Hawkes December 31, 2014 at 10:54 pm Reply

      Salmon is one of my favourites 🙂

  2. ExpHealthyFoods (@ExpHealthyFoods) December 19, 2014 at 1:29 am Reply

    Everything looks amazing!!
    -Brittney

Leave a Reply

