MIMM – My excellent weekend

I have just had the most excellent weekend – so i just had to share it on My MIMM post

Healthy Diva Eats

Healthy Diva Eats

Ben has a big birthday next weekend, I’ve had in my mind an idea for a surprise party for the last two years – yes years! – and it all came together.

As if that wasn’t enough, I attended a second surprise party (and made the cake) and spent 4 hours taking part in a ‘Get in the Picture’ nativity scene with Exeter Vineyard Church – what more could a girl ask for???

MIMM I started Saturday with a quick trip to the gym before breakfast.  It’s times like this I’m glad I don’t have far to go to get to the gym.  HIIT sessions between sessions on the cross trainer.

Then it was off to Exeter so Ben could do a Charity abseil off the carpark.  So proud of this guy!!

BenWe grabbed a hot chocolate, and I’m glad I did as I didn’t have any lunch, before Ben went home to pack for the weekend, and I went to help with a ‘Get in the Picture’ Nativity Scene.

104_0516

We had two rails of dressing up outfits and members of the public could come, dress up, and get their photo taken with a copy to take away there and then. I mostly took the photos.  It was a brilliant experience.

From there we rushed off to Torquay for our party.  Ben thought we were just meeting my sister and her hubby, but what he didn’t know was that family and friends were also joining us.

We got to the hotel and checked in without him spotting anyones cars.  I almost caved when my sister text me to stall him as there was a problem with the rooms and half the party were in reception.  She gave me a firm ‘texting to’ and I’m so glad she did.

We checked in and went to our room.  Lucy met us there and did an excellent job of passing on information under disguise.  I wasn’t so great.

Lucy: Look at these pictures of the cat on my phone
Me: Oh yeah, arent’ they cute.
Me: Silent as I read the message on the phone.Me: Ok. [thinking sh1t, oops]

Thankfully Ben was playing on his phone and paying me no attention at all.

We went up to Lucy’s room before going to dinner, and there everyone surprised him 🙂 He went bright red and was totally speechless – result I think 🙂

Some photos from the night:

Ben's birthdayI was so busy having a good time I didn’t get permission to post other photos of the crowd, so you’ll just have to settle for us.

We enjoyed our meal and then boogied until the party finished.  Our table were the first and last on the dancefloor – that sounds about right!

I got up the next morning and had breakfast with my Mumma, while everyone else enjoyed a lie in.  Then we went to make the most of the facilities with a swim and a jacuzzi.

After check out we all went our separate ways.  Ben and I had to collect the cake we’d made and make our way to a surprise birthday lunch. Too many surprises in one weekend – I’d been afraid to speak to anyone all week!

Coombe CellarsBen discovered a talent in making icing sculptures of people – I was very impressed. I made two gluten and dairy free cakes – almond and cherry, or carrot cake.

That was the view from our table – fabulous!

We got some food shopping for the weekend, and I made cookies using a variation of this recipe.

Then I had a 20 minute nap and woke and hour and a half later – oops!

Hope you all had a Marvelous weekend too!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

