Fitness Friday: Twerk with Zoe McNulty

Sorry guys for not meeting my promise of getting a WIAW post up about the food at Fitness Fiesta – you’ll have to wait until next week.

But into my first class review.  I’ll start with our first class.

If you read my posts from Feb/March Fitness Fiesta, you will know that we did a class taught by Zoe McNulty last time – I think Ben came away with a bit of a crush. So, what’s a wife to do? I approved of his choice, so I told him he had to come with me to Twerk.

He was the lone male in a class full of women. We arrived late, and in an effort to be less conspicuous we settled in the back of the room. Now, while I say we were less conspicuous, Ben was still head and shoulders taller than anyone else in the room. He didn’t get picked out, and for that we were both relieved.

I shouldn’t have been surprised, but the class pretty much did what it said on the tin. Not a heart-racer, but a considerable amount of booty-shaking.

Zoe, as always danced with her heart and soul. She is a woman who celebrates rather than puts down other women. This time we weren’t “daaancers”, we were ‘dirrrrrty!’

We did everything from learning the difference between a ‘front twerk’ and a ‘back twerk’ (names assigned by me) to getting into an inversion with our hands on the floor, our feet against the wall and twerking upside down.

I was practising at home

I was practising at home

We learned a few moves to some tracks, then came putting them together into a routine, a small section at a time.

Ben said he had a great view from the back 🙂

We had a fun time.  I still haven’t quite got the hang of the backwards twerk, as opposed to the front thrusting twerk 🙂

I’m not sure I’d do the class again at Fitness Fiesta, but I’m glad I gave it a go!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

