WIAW #36: importance of a healthy breakfast

6287a-wiawfallintogoodhabitsbutton

After a fab and fun weekend I was sooo hungry on Monday.  Whether my body was catching up from the 4 hour Jamathon or if it was a change in the clocks that set me back, I don’t know.

Perhaps I was eating the wrong breakfast??

I was reading this week about the importance of a good breakfast.  Now, that’s nothing ground breaking, all Healthy Living Bloggers know the importance of a good breakfast.  It’s like healthy living 101 – you know that you start your day right, and the rest is bound to follow.

Now, I’m against cutting out a food group or ingredient just because someone else said it worked for them, and I don’t want to go down the food guilt path – I’ve spent faaar too much of my life lost down there, but perhaps some of what James Duigan suggests is worth considering.

WIAW

WIAW 36

Usually during the week I start the day with eggy oats – during the weekend I might make something a bit different, such as french toast.  This week, inspired by Kath Eats,  I bought bagels. The supermarket had sold out of wholegrain, so I went for the branded 50:50 (wholemeal and white) bagels.

I had one left on Monday, so started the day with a toasted bagel, low fat mozzarella, sliced apple, an egg, and the rest of the apple on the side with a drizzle of cashew butter.  Yum – I had my protein from the egg and cheese, fats from the egg and cashew butter, and fibre from the apple and bagel.

But, I was snackish again by the time I got to work.

“wheat…once eaten, converts to sugar faster than any other grain – this sugar then converts to fat which is why wheat needs to be avoided if you want a lean body….

[gluten] can be very hard to digest, leading people to become susceptible to indigestion, yeast overgrowth, allergies and eventually coeliac disease. Wheat also contains phytates. Phytates bind with health-boosting calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus and zinc in the intestinal tract, preventing these minerals from being properly absorbed. So, if you eat wheat excessively, you could end up with mineral deficiencies (which make you hungry all the time)…”

Now, I’m sure I don’t eat gluten excessively, and having cut it out in the past I don’t think that I felt or looked any better at that time than when I did/do eat gluten – but perhaps there was something in that??

Incidently, Tuesday I went back to my regular eggy oats and I kept going until lunchtime without a snack.

Back to Monday, I was hungry when I got into work, so I made a coffee and nibbled at a cookie that was hidden at the back of my drawer. It seemed a bit stale, so I have no idea how long it had been there since I filched it from a meeting?!?! eurgh.

I kept myself going with more tea than I usually drink, but I was still hungry mid-morning.  I went for a protein nakd bar (it contains soya pieces) to try to get me through the morning.

I then had my lunch before my pilates class – salad of romaine lettuce, soya beans, harlequin squash, and a fishy topping made from steamed cod, smoked salmon and a bit of ricotta cheese.

I followed that with a banana and a low fat yogurt – I’ve not been as impressed with these yogurts as I thought I would be.

When I got home I was in a bit of a grump – thinking I might be hangry (hungry angry) I made myself a snack of oats, with almond milk and half a quest bar before I went to BodyPump.

That must have been the boost I needed – I upped my weights in the back and tricep tracks and I managed to complete the biceps on the heavier weight that I had been trying for the last two weeks.  WIN!!!

I went home, and I snacked on some roasted romanesco cauliflower, while I made dinner – I grilled some red onions and mushrooms, chopped up a leftover chicken sausage, and topped with low salt and sugar baked beans – a healthy fry-up (without the frying) yum!

What is your ideal breakfast for keeping you going for the rest of the day?

Favourite salad ingredients?

Do you eat wheat/gluten?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “WIAW #36: importance of a healthy breakfast

  1. athleticavocado October 30, 2014 at 12:56 am Reply

    Yum breakfast is the best meal of the day!

  2. Julie @ WolfItDown November 1, 2014 at 9:27 pm Reply

    So many delicious things here! I get what you mean when realising that you have had the “wrong” breakfast and find yourself hungry after an hour or two after your meal….
    I do eat wheat and gluten, but I try and only have it about twice a day 🙂 Oats in the morning usually keeps me going before I get hangry myself 🙂 I usually eat every three to four hours, making sure that 70-80% of it is all good for me 🙂 Baked beans are delicious too and is another good way of starting the day, but I also sometimes have it with other stuff for dinner (or with mini snack-a-jacks for dipping at lunchtime – way better than it sounds by the way, I’m a bit of an addict :P). That bagel and the salad looks amazing, and the nakd bars are ridiculously tasty 😀 You’ve got a lovely blog here 😀 x

    • Emily Hawkes November 5, 2014 at 2:15 pm Reply

      Hi Julie
      Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

