Coffee #1 review

What Newton Abbot really needs is another coffee shop, said no one, ever.

But, nonetheless we have a new one.  Ok, it’s been there about a month now, and I meant to write this review after I went in the first time.  But, I had to go back again another two times – you know, just to be sure.

Where I live, Newton Abbot, seems to have an abundance of pubs, and charity shops, and now coffee shops are taking over the town.  We have a Costa, Coffee Republic and numberous independent places such as The Pharmacy, Lemon Jelli, The Country Table Cafe, The Clock Tower, Devon Deli, and more.  Well, now we also have Coffee #1.

I’m familiar with the chain as I have visited the one in Wellington. From what I can see it is primarily the South West of England and Wales, that have branches.

Coffee #1

Tea, filter coffee and a chocolate flapjack

The first thing I am struck by is the ambience – the tables and chairs are all mis-matched and the decor is cosy – pictures on the walls, a fireplace, and books on shelves that you can peruse while you drink and dine 🙂

Colouring for children

Colouring for children

They have also thought of parents, providing children’s books, as well as a tear off coloring pad and crayons. That kept me entertained while Ben stuck his nose in a World War II book.

Coffee #1, Newton Abbot

Ben in Coffee #1

I have thorougly converted to soya cappuccinos now, which is a shame when drinking in Coffee #1, as it is one of the few places that charges extra for soya milk.  You can, however, order a filter coffee (choice of two) and I don’t mind that with regular milk.

The tea is loose leaf, served in suki teapots which I really like.  There are juices and smoothies on the menu – I have yet to discover if the smoothies are real or flavoured with syrups.

The cake cabinet looks delicious – Ben selected a chocolate orange flapjack – it was moist yet chewy – lovely!  Another time he had the toast – a couple of slices of doorstop bread toasted to perfection, served with butter and marmalade (you can’t win them all).

Do you drink coffee?

Where is your favourite coffee shop? What’s your typical order?

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Coffee #1 review

  1. […] Sunday was more chilled to help me recover before work again on Monday.  Ben and I went for a coffee at Coffee #1 – a review to come tomorrow. […]

Leave a Reply

