MIMM: a birthday party and feeling poorly

I wasn’t going to write this because I’ve been a bit under the weather, but I had a good weekend, so it’s good to reflect and share.

Welcome to Monday!

Healthy Diva Eats

Healthy Diva Eats

The weekend started when my sister came down on Friday for a catch up and a cuddle with her kitty.  As I mentioned before, we have a visitor staying with us 🙂 And Lucy was missing her.

Mummy and Saffy love

Mummy and Saffy love

I cooked pizza so we could have leftovers for our picnic the next day.

I was feeling poorly – we had a busy day doing work in the community on Friday (check it out on the DPA blog), and I had a bit of a head cold – I call it Fresher’s Flu.

Saturday morning Ben and I got up and went to BodyCombat – sweat it out, and at least I wasn’t touching anyone or any equipment.

It was my Nanny’s birthday, so we hurried off for a beautiful boat ride

Totnes to Dartmouth River Cruise

Totnes to Dartmouth River Cruise

It was a cloudy day – but warm.

It was good to be reunited with my brother and to celebrate with Nanny 🙂 Of course, there were selfie involved.

selfies on the boat

selfies on the boat

We went out for a meal in the evening. I remembered why I tend to be teetotal after a flute of prosecco. Because I rarely drink, it’s like giving alcohol to a pre-teen and it hits me quickly. Ben thought it was funny to photograph my descent into madness.

proseccoSunday was more chilled to help me recover before work again on Monday.  Ben and I went for a coffee at Coffee #1 – a review to come tomorrow.

Ben went to his parents house in the afternoon, but I stayed at home to keep my germs away.  I went for a swim in the local pool, which helped to clear my head and did some food shopping.

I forgot sensible things, like meat, but picked up the extra ingredients I didn’t have to make a dark spiced apple cake to take to work. When life (Nanny) gives you apples – make apple cake!

Dark spiced apple cake

Dark spiced apple cake

I had an impromptu mini-pump session, and when that was finished I went home to find Ben had returned, and I ran myself a bath before we bedded in for the evening catching up on the Strictly Come Dancing that we had missed on Friday and Saturday.

What did you do this weekend?

Do you watch Strictly – or a version from your country?  If so, who’s your favourite?

Do you like to take selfies?

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “MIMM: a birthday party and feeling poorly

  1. jessielovestorun September 29, 2014 at 10:39 am Reply

    I feel like the cold is going around so bad right now. I just finished getting over mine, and have heard of a handful of people coming down with one. I sure hope you feel better quickly. Keeping you in my prayers.

    • Emily Hawkes September 29, 2014 at 11:42 am Reply

      Thanks so much. Feeling like I’m on the up, so that’s great 🙂

  2. Erin (@herheartland) September 29, 2014 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Selfies are so fun! I hope you feel better!

    • Emily Hawkes September 30, 2014 at 7:12 am Reply

      Thank you, I am feeling much better 🙂 x

  3. […] We booked a river boat trip, Nanny, Mum, my sister, brother, and Nanny’s sister took a ride from Totnes to Dartmouth, and we went out for a meal in the evening.  You can read more about my weekend with pictures on my MIMM post. […]

Leave a Reply

