Fitness Friday: Functional Fitness

If you read my post on Monday you will have seen I had an epiphany regarding Functional Fitness.  I had some more thoughts, so please indulge me while I try to make sense of them.

If you can’t be bothered to check out the link (fair enough) what I realised was this:

Functional fitness, decorating

Facebook post

I shared it on Facebook, and was pleased it was read and liked by so many people.

I think sometimes we are blinded by the numbers on the scale, or the tape measure.

It brought to mind a discussion I overheard on the train last week.  Sat across from me were a couple of, I want to say old dears – but without sounding patronising (it’s colloquial not offensive!).  One of them had a big bruise down the side of her face – it turned out she had taken a fall – so they were chatting about how easy it is now [that they are older] to fall.

It’s something I’ve heard a hundred times before “My mind still thinks I’m 18 but my body doesn’t”.

Then she said how she used to balance on the side of the bath to dust the lampshade (I have never dusted a lampshade in my life!!). I bet she never worried about whether she had a thigh gap, or whatever the latest diagnostic tool is for judging if you are ‘fat’ or not.

Arman summed it up in his post: It’s easier to bash our bodies than embrace it. (I swear I had written the majority of this post before I read it).  His message is simply that we should embrace and be grateful for what our bodies can do, because there are so many people who can’t.

It also brings to mind my favourite quote from Pretty Woman:

Vivian: People put you down enough, you start to believe it.
Edward: I think you are a very bright, very special woman.
Vivian: The bad stuff is easier to believe. You ever notice that?”

This is something I’m still working on, but I wanted to leave you with one last thought:

Do you work out to look a certain way? 

Have you been surprised with how your strenght or fitness has made things easier?

Any favourite quotes?

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: Functional Fitness

  1. Arman @ thebigmansworld September 28, 2014 at 9:00 am Reply

    Thanks for the shout out! We really do tend to underestimate our bodies- time to get over it1

    • Emily Hawkes September 29, 2014 at 11:43 am Reply

      Thanks for stopping by and checking it out.

Leave a Reply

