Keeping it real

“YOU WHAT?  You want to know my blog URL?  Why???”

I know, as a blogger I should be pleased when people read my blog.  And yes, I am – hello and welcome, I’m so glad you’re here.  But then someone I KNOW reads my blog, and I’m like all:

You know what’s even worse.  When your blog mentions them! Or their girlfriend/boyfriend/mother/father/cat. Oh yes.  Not by name, but clear as day. You know what? They might be reading this now…it could be you??  But then you’d know if it was wouldn’t you?

I digress.

Then in my head I’m manically trying to think what I wrote?  Were there other posts?

hagridI’m not saying I’ve written anything personal.  At least I don’t think I have.  It’s more in passing – such as my paying it forward posts (I still try to do nice things, I just don’t want to make a thing of it).  At least I hope that’s all it is 🙂

I guess I’m not like Jenn (Jenn is awsome by the way – check her out) who sees her blog as “a perfect outlet to get personal from time to time.”

And I identify with Lucie: I don’t talk about this on my blog.

I don’t share my What I ate Wednesday posts on Facebook, at least not on my personal page.  Any other bloggers out there with me?  It’s fine amongst the WIAW blogger crowd, but when people I know talk to me about it, it’s like when someone reads your diary.  And no, I wouldn’t want you to read my diary either!  The only thing really in it is my exercise diary – can anyone say a.d.d.i.c.t???

I’m not comfortable with being held up as an example.  I’m not perfect, and I get things wrong.  Of course, we try to show our best sides in a blog – but you know what? I get things wrong.  I have a story, I have a history… stick around if you want to know more about me – but know that I am flawed, JUST LIKE YOU!

Do people you know read your blog? 

Do you draw attention to it, or away from it. 

Is your blog a place for you to show the best side of you, or do you keep it real?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

