WIAW #31

Hello, happy hump day 🙂

This is actually a What I ate Wednesday – yes, I recordered it last Wednesday.  What’s so special about Wednesday? I hear you cry (ok, perhaps you don’t care that much). But I do, because it’s smoothie day!! Whoop whoop.

I don’t know what will happen when the weather turns and I no longer want my icy smoothies – perhaps I will replace it with more coffee – who am I kidding? If I drank anymore coffee you might as well set me up with an IV drip – hey, we all need our vices 🙂

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW

Thanks, as ever, Jenn for hosting – awesome lady!

Right, so into the food (and smoothie).

WIAW, What I ate Wedneday, Smoothie

WIAW #31

  • Breakfast: Wednesdays are a crazy-arse day, where I get up at 6am and am out the door in 15 minutes so I can get to the gym for a Synrgy class before work.  By the looks of things I had a bit more time last week as I managed to make oats and hot chocolate almond milk 🙂  I even chucked a marshmallow in for some instant energy as I rushed out the door for the train (that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!) the marshmallow made it really hot – I won’t be doing that again.  The oats were made with boiling water, soya yogurt, half a banana and some raisins scattered over.  I made the mix the night before and just added water and yogurt.
  • Exercise: Synrgy – an intense HIIT class.  That one was particularly intense, with weighted lunges, goblet squats, push press, trx row and my nemesis – the battle rope.  You never know what to expect in advance – just go with it!
  • Smoothie: My intense workout early in the day means I justify a fruit smoothe.  I can’t abide places which advertise smoothies on the menu, and when you go to order you find it’s just syrup!! Ahh, hate it. I walk into town to get mine from FIVE Juice Bar. They’re all made to order, which is great as you can tailor it a bit more.  The contain low fat yogurt, apple and orange juice and the fruit flavours you choose. This one was their special offer strawberry and banana.
  • Lunch: When I got back to my desk I had my lunch.  Terrible photo because I took it with my iPod Touch because I was embarrased to take a photo at my desk :-/ Anyway, we have Romaine lettuce, roasted carrots and butternut squash, tinned tuna mixed with taco spices and topped with some crunchy kale chips. No yogurt or fruit to follow as I had fruit and yogurt in my smoothie.
  • Snack: I didn’t take a snack with me, as I thought I should be able to manage without.  Sadly I was wrong, so I raided the cupboards when I got home and had a homemade peanut butter and white chocolate cookie, and a piece of biltong I had snatched.  Never tried it before, it was very salty, but nice.
  • Exercise: I used to do Yogalates on a Wednesday – but my favourite is BodyJam at the moment – so I’m getting it in where I can 🙂
  • Dinner: Dinner was a cheesy omelette (one egg I think) with courgette, and a corn-on-the-cob and roasted tomatoes on the side. I barely touched the corn, probably becasue:
  • Snack: I made some pumpkin bread – processed oats, pumpkin, half a banana and 1 egg with loads of cinnamon and some raisins added for extra sweetness.  I tasted as I made, then took a nibble off the end – probably spoiled my dinner a bit – oops.
Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “WIAW #31

  1. mslibbyliu September 18, 2014 at 6:07 pm Reply

    Yum! With fall almost here, I’m looking forward to tons of pumpkin bread! 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes September 19, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

      Oh yes! Sounds good – I sent the hubby into town for extra squash yesterday 🙂

Leave a Reply

