London Baby! Part 2

Where was I?  Oh yes, we were on our way to Raw Press.  If you missed the first part of our trip to London you can find it here.

From Inspiral in Camden, we hopped back on the tube and headed towards Dove Street.  Ben and I had planned in advance and located the street – all we had to do was find Raw Press, and the Delicously Ella goodies.

We found the street quickly, and walked up it looking for number 32.  We walked up and down the street but didn’t see it.  As we came round a hoarding, we laughed together at the store Wolf and Badger – it seemed like a funny name at the time, and the clothes in the window were something to behold (please note, this is an image from Google Maps and is not showing what was in the window at the time).

Image courtesty of Google Maps

Image courtesty of Google Maps

Once we had walked all the way along the street and back Ben decided to check on his blackberry that we had the address right.  I usually hate that thing, but it chose this moment to work, yay! I was grateful.  Turns out that Raw Press is right below Wolf and Badger – oops.

We made our way back and down the stairs under Wolf and Badger – and noticed a large sign on the railings – again, oops, we were looking up not down.

I was surprised it was so minimalist in the cafe.  One large table for customers – communal eating style on bar stools. There were 2 fridges stocked with Raw Press Juices and Mylks, and a plate of Deliciously Ella Sweet Potato brownies in each. Another counter where you could pay for your goodies – set out with three Deliciously Ella salads, on sale that day were: Zucchini Noodles with Brazil Nut Pesto, Chickpea and Squash Salad, and Broccoli and Avocado Salad.

Deliciously Ella sweet potato brownie

Deliciously Ella sweet potato brownie

While we were browsing we were approached by a very helpful assistant – was it Ella herself?  We weren’t sure.  She has been helping out in the weeks after the launch of the store.  I should have asked for an autograph 🙂 Whoever she was she was very nice and helpful.  I explained that we had come from Devon to find Raw Press.

I should have bought a salad, but I still wasn’t hungry.  I went with the intention of picking up a couple of brownies for my friends (at £4 each, they weren’t cheap, but you did get a good sized slice), and Ben insisted that I buy a juice.  I went for Number 4 Deep Rooted: a blend of beetroot, carrot, apple, fennel, celeriac, Jerusalem artichoke, horseradish at £4.50 a bottle.

beetroot, fennel, horseradish, carrot

Raw Press Number 4

Unfortunatley it had warmed up a bit by the time I came to drink it, and I suspect it would have been better cold.  It was strange – there was certainly a tang from the horseradish.  I liked the fact that it was based on vegetable juices rather than all fruit – but it might have been a bit too savoury for me.

The sweet potato brownie was fab.  I’m pleased to report that mine have been pretty authentic.  The brownies cut from the inside, without any edges were much more gooey than those around the edge which were more dense –  so bear this in mind if you are choosing one.

I was going to cover more in my post today – but I think that’s enough from me.  So until next time…

Are you a fan of vegetable juices?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “London Baby! Part 2

  1. […] that I was in London, visiting foodie places last week, you would think I would have done my WIAW then, but alas, I was not that organised, and […]

  2. London Baby! | it comes naturally blog September 30, 2014 at 7:21 am Reply

    […] Then we were off to Raw Press, but more about that later in the week…*Updated – part two. […]

  3. […] So, I guess I had better finish my tale of our anniversary trip to London.  Where was I?  We went to find Inspiral in Camden, and hunted down Deliciously Ella. […]

Leave a Reply

