Fitness Friday: My body is a temple?

I’ve quoted Layne Norton before, but this caught my eye on Facebook:

Stop associating being shredded with being healthy. If you have an eating disorder, moody, terrible performance in the gym, abnormal hormone profile, and bad relationships with your family… But you have shredded abs, do you REALLY think you are healthy? If you have a bit of stomach pudge but your heart rate, blood pressure, hormones are normal and you are crushing it in the gym and don’t get fatigued… Do you really think you are unhealthy? Get real. Just because you don’t have a six pack doesn’t mean you are out of shape.

I’d been thinking about it before, ever since my friend mentioned the cliche “my body is a temple“.  I’ve used the mantra before to persuade myself to eat the healthy stuff, and to avoid the bad.

But then I got to wondering: If my body is a temple – what does that make my mind, my soul?

As Layne points out, if you aren’t healthy in your mind, if you can’t workout, is that fit?

If you follow me on Facebook, you might have seen this article I shared – It’s definitley worth a read if you haven’t seen it already: The perils of clean eating

Those who have an “unhealthy obsession” with otherwise healthy eating may be suffering from “orthorexia nervosa,” a term which literally means “fixation on righteous eating.” 

Orthorexia starts out as an innocent attempt to eat more healthfully, but orthorexics become fixated on food quality and purity.  They become consumed with what and how much to eat, and how to deal with “slip-ups.” “

Is that healthy?

This video from The Ellen DeGeneres Show shows where we SHOULD be at.

NOT

“I have this wrong, or that wrong”

BUT

“I love my body as it is”

WOW – what a statement!!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

