To sponsor or not to sponsor?

I’ve recently taken part in a couple of 5km runs for Race for Life.  Pretty Muddy in Cardiff, and the 5k in Exeter.

Race for Life x 2

Race for Life x 2

I’ve spoken on here before about my quandry associated with sponsoring events.

Coupled with an article I read recently about sponsoring being a bad idea. I forget where I read it so forgive me that I can’t reference it, but the argument went that in people who choose to do sponsored challenges do so for hedonistic reasons – they do it for a personal challenge, or they do it because they think it would be fun.

The writer said that she (I think it was a she) would never run a marathon, no matter how much money she was offered.  People who chose to run a marathon do so because they are interested in doing so.

It went on to say that we would be better off giving a few hours to help out at a local childrens charity, or an old peoples home.

BUT – there are other needs out there that time can’t buy:

  • Awareness for a little known disease (my friend did a challenge for Dravets Syndrome)
  • Money to fund research
  • Money to run events, charities, and all sorts of things
  • Money for charities that work abroad – not all of us can travel to places where we might be needed.

So yes, my motivation for taking part was hedonistic.  I did the Race for Life Pretty Muddy and the Race for Life 5k because I thought they would be fun.

I lined up against other women who had lost loved ones, who had fought their own battles and those who had won all joined together to raise money to fund research into cancer treatments

If you want to run a 5K, a 10K, a marathon, or even get muddy doing so – surely it is better to try and raise some money along the way.

I appreciate that people have their own causes, so as long as we are trying to do as much good as we can, I think that’s all that matters.

If you want to donate to Cancer Research UK Race for Life you can do so through my sponsorship page: https://www.justgiving.com/cool-beanz/

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

