What I ate Wednesday #24

Bah, it was another one of those weeks when I almost forgot I had to record a days worth of eats.  But I got there just in time.  WELCOME to another What I ate Wednesday.

I had a busy weekend, and therefore didn’t get to do a proper shop. So on Monday I didn’t have much for breakfast. I started the day with oats made with water and a few sultanas. On the side I had half a grapefruit.  And do you know what?  I was SOOO hungry all day!

What I ate Wednesday

What I ate Wednesday

I learned my lesson, so on Tuesday I stated the day with a slice of French Toast with some avocado chocolate sauce and some banana slices – mmmm, fats to fill me up!  I eat a mainly plant based diet, and will go days without having anything non-vegan.  But I had one egg left after buying them for guests at the weekend, so I thought I would roll with some Eggy bread.  So good!

Strong coffee when I got to work – love it!

A good breakfast didn’t mean I wasn’t hungry though – unfortunately! I was ‘starving’ when lunchtime came around.  I forgot to pack any kale chips on Monday – another fat-less fail! So I made sure I had some this time around. Wasabi wheatgrass flavour from Inspiral – yum!

Alongside a coquina squash and chickpea dip on a slice of ryebread with a couple of carrots as they were small, and my favourite (of the moment) Pink Lady apples.

Before I caught the train home I had some oats that I had soaked in water and soya yogurt.  There were some chocolate crispy cakes in the office, so I took a pinch of the crumbs (ok, a handful) and sprinkled them on top. That got me through a yoga session followed by a quick session in the gym before we went home.

This week I ran through some tabata sets:

  • warm up on the step machine – didn’t do this long as my legs ached from new BodyPump on Monday
  • 6 minutes on the x-trainer random programme including a 4 minute tabata set – grrr!
  • Tabata chest and triceps – flipping between chest flys on the fitball vs tricep extensions sat on the ball
  • Tabata abs – flipping between bicycle crunches and regular pulsing crunches with feet at 90°
  • More tabata abs – switching between raised side crunch and side plank side crunch
  • Tabata kettlebells – switching between kettlebell swings and kettlebell deadlifts with jump

When I got home I spiralised some courgette noodles (or zoodles if you will) and stirred them into a tomato sauce made with chopped tomatoes, tomato puree with garlic and a splash of apple cider vinegar – I swear, it makes all the difference!  I popped it in the oven to ‘just cook’ the noodles, and topped with a sprinkle of vegan mozzarella.  They cooked off while I made a mustard chicken pasta dish for Ben.  While that was cooking I made an oat cookie for Ben’s dessert – just thrown together oats, peanut butter, a dash or rice malt syrup and some hemp protein powder.  I confess I nibbled a bit of this as I made it – So good!

When dinner was ready I threw my courgette noodles over a bed of spinach, and topped it with live sauerkraut and a sprinkle of nooch – yum!

And there you have it – My Tuesday eats on What I ate Wednesday 🙂

Happy Hump Day! Have a good one!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #24

  1. ChickGettinFit July 2, 2014 at 5:43 pm Reply

    I always try to make sure I have a good breakfast otherwise I’m starving the entire day. Breakfast is the best meal of the day in my opinion!

Leave a Reply

