Hello Fresh Review

Good morning (or afternoon, or night, depending on when you read this 🙂

As I mentioned in my What I ate Wednesday post last week – I got the opportunity to try Hello Fresh (Hello Fresh UK, Hello Fresh USA) at a discount. (and if you want to try it too – you can use my Family and Friends discount code for £20 off! – 544MHW)

Hello Fresh, meal delivery

Hello Fresh Week 1

I always get excited when I get stuff delivered.  Even though I bought it, it still feels like Christmas – opening boxes to find things you want/asked for 🙂  So I loved opening the box of goodies (actually Ben opened it to put the perishables in the fridge before I got home from work).

Another bonus for me is that most of it comes pre-measured so there’s less work to do measuring stuff out (if that’s how you roll).  There isn’t any waste because it’s all measured and prepared so you don’t end up with huge portions.

spaghetti

The meals are healthy too – in our first box we had:

beef bulgogi

Beef Bulgogi

As you will see below in a bit more detail, I tweaked the Beef Bulgogi for myself.

King prawn linguini

Tiger Prawn linguini with chilli and sundried tomatoes

The Tiger prawns were switched for chicken for Ben as he doesn’t like prawns, and I had courgette noodles instead of linguini.  Luckily my brother was over, so we got to use everything.  He’s a fussy eater, but I was pleased that he enjoyed his meal!

I think if I was making from home I would use wholewheat pasta and brown rice, but this felt nice for a change.

We swapped the Powerful Pan-Fried Citrus Chicken with chunky ratatouille for the:

chicken palliard

chicken palliard with crushed rosemary potatoes

I tweaked this one a fair bit for me – I replaced the chicken with aubergine, and the potatoes with kale chips.  For Ben, the potatoes didn’t crisp up as much as the recipe suggested, but he really liked the rosemary flavour – it’s his favourite and why I chose to swap in this meal for the chicken with ratatouille (Ben doesn’t like ratatouille)

The beauty is that you can add as much flavour as you like if you really like or don’t like garlic/spice/herbs etc.

The recipes are quick and easy to make – it’s amazing how much time you save by just having the ingredients there to hand.

The first dish we tried was the korean beef bulgogi.  Ok I say we, I did my own take with mushrooms in place of the beef, and corn on the cob in place of the rice

beef bulgogiBut it was really delicious.  I had a quick read of the recipe before I went to the gym and saw that it  recommended marinating the beef (mushrooms) for at least an hour.  I was so glad I did – the flavours were delicious!

The recipe card gave a recommendation for cooking ‘the best rice’ – and it really was!  I may misquote this – but I brought 300ml of water to the boil in a saucepan.  Add the rice and cook on low, with the lid on, for 10 minutes. Remove from the heat, but keep the lid on for another 10 minutes.  Do not remove the lid until the full 20 minutes is up (I did the unthinkable – in my kitched – and set the timer!).  Fluff up with a fork and serve.  It was fantastic!

It’s not something I would use all the time – but it felt nice as a treat.  There were dishes I wouldn’t have tried otherwise – so it’s great for inspiration.  It is a bit of an inconvenience that you have to wait a week for it to be delivered (you get the order confirmed on a Wednesday, and the food is delivered the following Tuesday).  It would be really good as a gift for a friend who is feeling under the weather – or perhaps a new Mum/Dad if you can’t take round a meal.

Have you ever used a meal delivery service?  Don’t forget you can use my Family and Friends discount code for £20 off!

544MHW

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

