Fitness Friday…fitness while travelling

It’s Fitness Friday.  I was racking my brains for a topic for today’s Fitness Friday post.  I’ve focussed on so classes I tried out when I went to Fitness Fiesta.  I’ve written about a couple of classes that I take part in regularly here and here.  I could detail my usual weekly fitness routine.  Or how I like to change things up in the gym.

But those topics will have to wait.  Because this week, with June around the corner and holiday season coming, I’m thinking about fitness while travelling.

You can’t rely on having a fully equipped gym when you go away.

Now I appreciate that exercise and holidays don’t necessarily fit together for everyone.  Some people are happy with a bit of holiday-indulgence.  After all, if you can’t relax and enjoy yourself when you are on holiday – when can you??

But, I for one want to keep on top of my healthy eating and fitness even when I am away.  So how does that fit into holidays and travelling?

I’ve got quite a bit of fitness equipment at home.  Resistance bands, kettlebells in varying weights, weighted hula hoop, inflatable fitness disc, yoga mat, fitness ball, foam roller, etc.  (Ben put his foot down and stopped me buying a weight deck.)

inflatable disc, holiday fitness, wobble board,

inflatable disc

So amongst my stash there are some things I can take when we travel:

– When travelling in the UK, when we just pack up the car, it’s not uncommon for me to throw in a kettlebell so I can create a quick circuit to perform in the mornings.

– If you are flying and/or have a weight/size limit, the resistance bands don’t take up much room; the inflatable disc can be deflated for packing and then inflated once I hit my destination.  They’re both great for balance, strenght and added stability/core work.

But sometimes you just don’t want to take a load of fitness gear with you.  That doesn’t mean you can’t have a good workout.  And some work out is better than none (if you are that way inclined)

Faya from Fitness on Toast suggests an excellent bodyweight circuit that can be done in a hotel room (or even on a campsite if that’s how you roll).

1) Press Ups – to target the pectorals, triceps and deltoids – 15 reps
2) Squats – to target the glutes, quads and hamstrings – 15 deep reps
3) Step-ups – to target the quads, hamstrings and calves – 15 reps
4) Lunges – to target the quads – 15 reps
5) Scissor-crunches – to target the upper abdominals – 15 reps
6) Tricep Dips – to target the triceps – 15 reps
7) Raised-leg crunches – to target the lower abdominals – 15 reps
8) Crazy Jumping Around – for cardio and stress release (try it! ahem) – loads of reps
9) Calming Yoga-inspired Meditation: to rest in between sets. 3 minutes should suffice.

Check out her post for pictures and further information.

This 7 minute circuit also hit the headlines last year:

7 minute workout, scientific, circuit, interval training

The Scientific 7-Minute Workout Source

Do you workout on holiday, or do you prefer to chill?  What are your favourite or most effective holiday exercises?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

