a week of…freekeh

Last week I actually did some food prep.  Ok, it wasn’t much, but I cooked some grains, chopped up some fruit for smoothies, and roasted some veggies for salad.

The thing I was most impressed by was the grain.  Having done the gluten-free thing for a while up until the start of this year or so, I was a bit wary.

“Of what” you ask?

Of freekeh (pronounced ‘free-kah’ – I know, I spent ages looking it up!).

freekeh

freekeh

And what is freekeh?

Freekeh is a wheat grain, but it’s more the process that makes this special.

It is produced by harvesting [wheat] grains while still soft, young and green, then parching roasting and drying. The process captures the grains at a state of peak taste and nutrition. Freekeh is the name of this process and is not the name of a grain variety

I bought it because it was on a promotional deal at Real Foods, and then wasn’t sure what to do with it, so it took me a little while to muster the courage to try it.

I liked the texture – it’s a bit like a good nutty brown rice, but with a bit of a toasty, nutty flavour that comes from the drying process.

There are some arguments that because the grain is picked when it is young it is less likely to cause irritation to those with gluten sensitivity – however, it DOES contain gluten so is not suitable for those with celiac/coeliac disease.

freekeh-sideIt has a good nutritional profile.

freekeh, lunch, dinner, tabbouleh, salad

  • Top left: work lunchbox with spinach, chickpeas, roasted butternut squash and roasted giant radish – I was ‘told‘ I had to try roasted radish, and I have to say – it WAS good!
  • Top Right: nourish bowl; freekeh with tempeh, radish, mushrooms, spinach and a carrot and coriander hummus
  • Middle Right: freekeh tabbouleh: made with coriander not parsley, peas, cucumber and tomato with a dash of cidre vinegar and lemon juice
  • Bottom Right: nourish bowl; freekeh, spinach, roasted butternut squash, tempeh, and grilled aubergine with a cucumber hummus
  • Bottom left: A Butternut squash quarter stuffed with tempeh and coriander with crumbled tempeh.

Have you tried freekeh? Have you made a ‘nourish bowl’ – what would be your favourite combination?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “a week of…freekeh

  1. […] last week I got to chopping some melon, I cooked some freekeh, and I chopped and roasted a butternut squash.  It took the stress out of planning what to […]

Leave a Reply

