Week of…vegan pizza

After our pizza night last week I felt inspired to make more vegan pizzas.  So much so that I made a vegan ‘pizza’ every night this week.

I found it quite liberating, not to have to plan my meals, but just change the toppings.

I had fun experimenting with noochy (nutritional yeast) toppings, tomato, and different vegetable toppings.

Let me talk about Nutritional yeast for a bit:

Nutritional yeast is an excellent vegan substitute for a cheesy flavour.  It is an inactive form of yeast (and as such isn’t as much of an allergen as live yeast).  It is a ‘complete’ protein, containing all the amino acids that can’t be made by the body.  It is high in B vitamins, a couple of tablespoons contain more than your daily allowance of vitamins B1, B2, B3, B6, and even B12 – but you’ll have to check the label for this one, as not all brands contain it.

So back to my pizza’s.

pizza, vegan, socca, gram flour, nutritional yeast, vegetarian,

a week of vegan pizza

I’ve written of my love for socca/gram flour pancakes before, and I revived them to make the base for my pizzas.

  • 50g gram flour
  • pinch baking powder (approx 1/4 teaspoon)
  • 1 tsp vinegar (I used cider vinegar, balsamic vinegar and malt vinegar with success)
  • water to create a batter.
  1. Preheat frying pan with a spritz of low cal spray.
  2. With a fork mix together the gram flour, vinegar and water.  Beat it well to ensure no clumps remain.
  3. Pour over the batter and ensure it covers the pan evenly
  4. Cook for about 2-3 minutes until you can see bubbles forming on the top.
  5. Flip pancake carefully and cook for another couple of minutes, until lightly golden.
  • Monday: topped with homemade beetroot hummus (equal quantities of beetroot and chickpeas with a dash of tahini and garlic), sprinkled with nutritional yeast. Served with swiss chard.
  • Tuesday: base topped with a cheesy (nooch) and aubergine ‘sauce’ with grilled mushrooms and courgette strips.  Served with a side of rainbow chard and courgette chips with a dash of ketchup
  • Wednesday: cheesy sauce made with tofu, nutritional yeast and white miso paste.  Topped with baked cherry tomatoes and a corn-on-the-cob on the side.
  • Thursday: base topped with chopped tomatoes (flavoured with basil) and grilled mushrooms, served with tempeh ‘chips’ and ketchup
  • Friday: topped with a green lentil and chopped tomato sauce, and a nutritional yeast and aubrgine sauce.

I thought I would be fed up with it by the end of the week, but I really enjoyed the thick sauces of Friday, and I’m not sure I’m quite ready to let it go 🙂

What are your favourite pizza toppings?  What is your favourite style of pizza base?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Week of…vegan pizza

  1. […] baked falafel, in a gram flour ‘wrap’ (basically a thinner, larger version of my socca/pizza) with roasted butternut squash and a spicy tomato and tofu dressing, served with iceberg lettuce. […]

Leave a Reply

