Vegan ‘tuna’ pasta salad

vegan, mock tuna, vegan, pasta, salad When I was growing up Mum would occasionally make tuna pasta for social get togethers.  Simply tuna, pasta, sweetcorn and mayonnaise.  I didn’t like it, I don’t know what it was – I liked tuna mayonnaise sandwiches, I liked pasta, but you couldn’t make me eat tuna pasta.

Then one weekend we went to visit my auntie and uncle.  One of the dishes at the dinner table alongside the salad was a tuna pasta salad.  I don’t know what made me try some, but I did…and I loved it!  Between my sister and I we demolished it with little more than a few slices of cucumber and some crusty French bread.

Some weeks later my Mum made tuna pasta again, and surprise – I didn’t like it.  We phoned up my auntie, and discovered her secret ingredient – a dash of tomato ketchup! Wow – that changed everything.  I now loved tuna pasta salad.

I made a batch every time we had a picnic or BBQ.

I stopped eating mayonnaise some time ago – and greek yogurt was never the same.  Now I’m eating plant based, I don’t even eat that.  So I supposed my tuna pasta salad was now off the tabe.

That is until I made my delicious Vegan Tahini mayonnaise.

My brother kindly pointed out that I can’t eat pasta now I am eating vegan – he was right, egg based pastas are not my friend. I had a mild panic, then realised that I don’t eat regular pasta anyway – phew! Ingredients in my buckwheat pasta? Stonemilled Buckwheat Flour (80%), Rice Flour.

I made mock tuna before – ok, it’s not exactly like the real thing – but by the time I stirred in my pasta, sweetcorn and dash of tomato ketchup – I was happy 🙂  This time I used chickpeas, which gave a heartier texture.

This is the perfect side dish for your bank holiday.

Vegan Mock Tuna Pasta Salad

  • 1 quantity of vegan tahini mayonnaise
  • 1 tin of chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2 tin of sweetcorn
  • 100g pasta shapes of your choice
  • 1-2 tbsp tomato ketchup
  1. Cook pasta according to pack instructions.
  2. While the pasta is cooking roughly mash together the chickpeas and tomato ketchup.
  3. Once cooked, drain the pasta and cool under cold running water.
  4. stir together the mayonnaise, mashed chickpeas, pasta and sweetcorn.  Serve, or for best results leave for a few hours for the pasta to absorb all the flavours.
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

