A week of…vegan sushi

I was clearing out my cupboards last weekend and came across an opened packet of nori. It was well sealed, and I decided that I was going to use it up this week.

sushi, vegan, no fish, meat free, rice, quinoa,

a week of sushi

There wasn’t quite enough to see me through the week, so I tried out some sushi from the high street. I was disappointed to read that the vegetarian sushi wasn’t vegan.  I had assumed rice, vinegar and fillings would be vegan, but no, they contained creme fraiche and honey 😦

sushi, M&S, Marks and Spencer

Not vegan sushi

Oh well, live and learn.

But the rest I made myself:

  • Beetroot and quinoa sushi, filled with cucumber pieces
  • Curried kuri squash with brown basmati rice and filled with grilled asparagus
  • Miso quinoa with grilled asparagus

Ben even had homemade sushi one night

sushi, fish, stirfry, stir fry

Ben’s sushi

Filled with spicy white rice and peas, with stirfry veg and a cod fillet on the side.

Have you made your own sushi?  When you have half open packets, do you feel the need to use them up 🙂 ?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “A week of…vegan sushi

  1. cailinceol May 5, 2014 at 4:30 pm Reply

    Went to a Japanese place lately for lunch with a friend and there was nothing I could eat there at all, had to sit drinking water! Just wondering – what’s the ‘cod fillet?’ assuming it can’t be fish!

    • Emily Hawkes May 5, 2014 at 7:43 pm Reply

      Unfortunately the cod is fish – I’m the only vegan in the house. Ben will add meat to what I make if that is what he wants.

      • cailinceol May 5, 2014 at 7:59 pm

        Ah right!

Leave a Reply

