Paying it forward and vegan mayo recipe

I have to confess that I’m rather falling out of love with my Paying it Forward challenge.  It’s not that don’t want to do ‘kind’ things, but I’m fed up with feeling accountable for it.  I mean, when I am helping someone or doing good, I want to feel that I have done something positive – not feel that I can check another good deed off the list.

I guess that’s where RANDOM acts of kindness come in – you just do it randomly, when the mood takes you, or you see someone in need.  Not because you set yourself a challenge, and are too stubborn to give it up.

Perhaps, I need to give it some more thought, and re-group. See how I feel when I’ve had chance to see how I feel.

So this week, my good deed is to share with you this amazing vegan mayonnaise recipe 🙂 It’s Allergy Awareness week – so here is my version of mayonnaise which is egg free, dairy free, gluten free and nut free – gotta be good!

vegan, mayonnaise, tahini,

Sorry – just realised how rubbish this pic is…

Egg free tahini mayonnaise recipe

Ingredients:
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoons cold pressed rapeseed oil
2 teaspoons wholegrain mustard
2 cloves garlic, roasted

Simply mix all the ingredients together until it comes together.

I changed up the oil, using rapeseed oil instead of olive oil.  Did you know that rapeseed oil has half the saturated fat of olive oil?  It also has 10x the Omega 3 and 3x the Omega 6.  In the western world we tend to have an imbalnce of Omega 3 and Omega 6, so increasing the Omega 3s in our diets is great news!

Have you ever set yourself a challenge and then decided that the outcome wasn’t what you expected? Have you set yourself a challenge and realised the results weren’t for you?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Paying it forward and vegan mayo recipe

  1. kibilds May 2, 2014 at 1:51 am Reply

    I’m on a 100 day good deed challenge I set for myself and it does get hard sometimes. But I avoid the feeling of crossing it off a list by not having a list at all! I try not to plan deeds so I’m more aware of my surroundings and how I can add value to something or someone. Hang in there! 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes May 2, 2014 at 7:35 am Reply

      Thank you, that’s very inspiring. I like the idea of ‘adding value’. I think I probably do this more than I am aware 🙂

  2. worldofmee May 2, 2014 at 3:34 pm Reply

    You paid it forward by giving me some of your yummy mayo – I’m going to pay it forward tonight by giving you some homemade peanut butter xx

    • Emily Hawkes May 5, 2014 at 7:40 pm Reply

      That is true 🙂 If only it could be that easy each week 🙂

  3. […] That is until I made my delicious Vegan Tahini mayonnaise. […]

Leave a Reply

