Thoughtful Thursday #12 & #13

Oh dear, I appear to be slacking on my Pay it forward posts.  Sorry, I must hold myself more accountable.

Today is Pay it Forward Day, so I really should get a post out 🙂

I had a blog idea planned for last week, but it never got written.  Did I doubt my thoughts and feelings? Perhaps. Did I think it would reflect badly on me? Definitely.

It all started with a friend who was running the London Marathon.  Running a marathon is a huge achievement, it takes guts, determination and loads of fitness.  So of course they are well within their rights to ask for sponsorship.  And I recognise how hard they have worked to get there, so of course I would sponsor them.

However, there are more and more people running marathons these days.  I am a regular member at the gym and friends, family and colleagues have been known to take part, so I know lots of marathon runners.  Do I sponsor them all?  Then what happens when someone does an uber-challenge?  Should I sponsor them more because what they have chosen to take on is harder?

Then there are friends with kids who take on sponsored challenges.  I know, I was a Brownie, and I remember doing sponsored silences, bake sales etc.

I want to support my friends, but I don’t want to be a Scrooge.  I don’t really know what I am trying to say.  All I know is it is hard.

So what did I do?  I sponsored my friend.  I sponsored bigger than I usually would, and I kept it anonymous.  Then I felt guilty because I could have ‘spread the love’ a bit thinner and supported more people.

Pay it forward 12Ahh well, it’s a learning curve.

NB: For anyone who is a regular reader and knows I did the Sport Relief Mile – I didn’t ask for sponsorship because I didn’t feel I was challenging myself hard enough.  I stumped up the money for these events myself.

How do you feel about sponsored events?  How do you manage them?

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday #12 & #13

  1. worldofmee April 24, 2014 at 4:16 pm Reply

    I agree about the sponsorship thing. We all have our own causes and we want to support our friends, but funds aren’t limited and we work hard for what we have, so how best to allocate it?
    I find I feel guilty if I sponsor friends money I should donate to my charity, and I feel guilty for not supporting my friends if I don’t sponsor them – especially when they then support The Mozambique Project. Nightmare, but I suppose as long as we are trying to do as much good as we can where we can it’s ok?

    • Emily Hawkes April 25, 2014 at 8:32 am Reply

      My fear in writing this was that someone I knew may read it and judge my decisions. Glad it you feel similarly 🙂

  2. […] I’ve spoken on here before about my quandry associated with sponsoring events. […]

Leave a Reply

