Protein Granola

Before I started on this vegan journey  I made this granola, and I thought it would be a waste not to share it with you because it really was yummy.

It was a ‘challenge’ I saw on Facebook which made me try it.  A friend of a friend posted a tongue in cheek comment requesting a low fat protein granola made and delivered.  Well, I couldn’t resist the challenge, so there and then I had a go – and got it right first time.

Actually, I love to make granola.  It’s so easy just to throw a few things together – pop it in the oven and BOOM – granola perfect for sprinkling over a breakfast smoothie, or serve with milk.

Protein granola, oats, It’s based on a recipe I learned during a cooking day course, in which we made sweet spiced nuts – using a brown sugar meringue coating – so lovely! I had tried the idea with oats before to make a granola – so I used the basis of that idea, but without the copious amounts of sugar.  I subbed sugar with protein powder.

Protein Granola

  • 60g egg whites
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 100g jumbo oats
  • 20g buckwheat groats

Simply whisk the egg whites until they are light and fluffy, and then gently whisk in the protein powder.  Add in the olive oil and honey and stir to comine – it will lose much of the airyness here.  Gently stir in the oats and groats, and put in the oven at 200C for 20 minutes, break up and stir, and return to the oven until crispy.

Cool and put in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Protein Granola

  1. sophiebowns April 14, 2014 at 8:49 am Reply

    Yummy!

    • Emily Hawkes April 14, 2014 at 9:42 am Reply

      It really was! Now I’m going to have to look for a way to vegan-ise it 🙂

  2. ranchcookie April 14, 2014 at 1:37 pm Reply

    I never thought to trade in sugar for protein powder that is such a great idea! Thanks for the great idea!

    • Emily Hawkes April 15, 2014 at 7:27 am Reply

      It seemed like a good swap, and it works in a number of recipes – yay!

  3. WIAW #37 | it comes naturally blog November 5, 2014 at 6:24 am Reply

    […] wanted to go to the gym early, but to beat off the pre-work crowd I made a version of my protein granola, with protein powder and egg […]

Leave a Reply

