Vegan ‘french toast’

Vegan, French toast, eggy bread, bagel, bread, banana, almond milk, dry fry,I’m playing with being vegan – perhaps playing isn’t the right word.  I’m dipping my toe in the vegan water, just for a week or so to see how I get on.

I’ve finished off the last of the salmon in the fridge, I have the last quorn steak (that I battled with myself over buying) for dinner tonight and my whey protein shakes are packed away.  I went shopping over the weekend and I’ve stocked up on almond milk.

My last fish dinner

My last fish dinner

Actually, the thing I’m most concerned about is my daily tea and coffee – only one of each, but always with milk.  I’ve trialled soya cappuccinos in my local coffee shops over the weekend, and actually, I think I can get used to it – that is if I am ‘allowed’ soya that’s not fermented.

Anyway, while I use up the last of the non-vegan produce in the fridge, I was trialling this breakfast idea.  After dabbling with going gluten free, and years of not allowing myself anything that was remotely unhealthy, I have since emabraced Fench toast – or as we called it when we were growing up – eggy bread. After all, aside from gluten isses, what’s wrong with a slice of wholemeal/granary bread (Ok, so at times I wouldn’t eat a whole slice of bread) with egg/egg white (in my no fat days *eye roll*) dry fried with only a sprizt of 1 cal spray (*another eye roll*).

Most of the recipes I see these days are sweet, but I think at home we used to serve it savoury with tomato ketchup.  That’s not to say we had it very often when we were growing up.  Having said that, I do remember making it for my little brother because it was the best way to get him to eat fruit – kiwis, skinless apples, peaches etc, he would eat it all if it was accompanies by some doughy, crisp egg coated bread.

I googled the idea, and some blogs said it was amazing – others said the french toast was soggy and doughy – guess what, I LOVE doughy!

This is more of a recipe idea, that you’re going to have to feel your way through – it will depend on factors such as the absorbancy of your bread, and the size of your banana etc.

  • unsweetened almond milk
  • banana – just ripe
  • cinnamon
  • bread of your choice (I enjoyed granary or cinnamon raisin bagels)
  1. Prehat your frying pan to hot (it needs to be hot to seal it)
  2.  Whizz a just ripe banana in a food processor until smooth, add a little almond milk and a dash of cinnamon
  3. QUICKLY dip your bread in the milk/banana mixture on each side and put in the frying pan.
  4. Cook for 3 minutes on each side until the sugars start to caramelise and you get a slighlty crispy edge.
  5. Serve with toppings of your choice – I liked mashed blackberries and cashew butter 🙂  My take on PB&J – peanut butter and jam/jelly.

What would/do you miss most in a vegan diet?  How do you like your French toast – doughy or soft and pillowy?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Vegan ‘french toast’

  1. The Awed Duck April 8, 2014 at 9:21 pm Reply

    I’ve been in and out of the vegan pond in the last few years. Currently I am fully emerged into being vegan. I am lactose intolerant so I can’t have milk and I don’t miss eggs. I was never a huge fan of eggs. The one thing I miss being a vegan is chili. Now I can eat chili without meat but there is nothing better than a big greasssssy chili burger on a cold day!

    • Emily Hawkes April 9, 2014 at 7:02 am Reply

      It’s great that we all miss different things. I made a bowl of tempeh chilli for dinner last night – delish, don’t get me wrong, but I know what you mean 🙂 If we know we have the right reasons it makes it a bit easier though 🙂

  2. […] as I mentioned on Monday – I’m dipping my toe in the vegan water 🙂 So it just so happens that this WIAW post […]

  3. […] I started on this vegan journey  I made this granola, and I thought it would be a waste not to share it with you because it really […]

Leave a Reply

