What I ate Wednesday #12

Hello! Welcome to another What I ate Wednesday.  And in true style, I left it to the last minute today.  At least I managed to capture a day’s eats yesterday though!

It’s been in the news that our recommended 5 a day (portions of fruit and veg that is) isn’t enough and should be more like 7-10 portions.  I go through phases, and can sometimes get as many as 8 or more portions in (8x80g = 640g of fruit and veg).  We discussed it at work in the morning, I was pleased to notice I was on a high veggie day 🙂

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, bagel, wrap, overnight oats, porridge, salad, hummus, wrap, quorn, steak, sauce, tomato, onion, squash, winter squash, crown prince squash

What I ate Wednesday

So what did I eat?

  • Breakfast was protein porridge.  I soaked some jumbo oats in almond milk overnight with some frozen banana, by the morning it was all mushy and yummy. I added some egg white, and cooked it on the hob until the egg white was cooked.  I was feeling in a fun mood (It was April Fool’s Day) so I added some sprinkles.
  • For my morning snack I had a duo (wheat and white) mini bagel with a quarter of an avocado mashed between the slices.  I had it with a coffee before I had to dash off to a meeting, and it kept me going.
  • I was hungry by lunchtime though.  I got out for a walk in the sun and fresh air before coming back to a yummy salad.  I had spinach, roasted cauliflower, cucumber and roasted sweet potato with some shop bought low fat hummus (It’s made with chickpeas, does that count?).  On the side/to follow I had an apple.  I can’t remember what variety these were, but I’m not a great fan!
  • I’ve got a bit of a thing for chia puddings this week, so on the coach on the way home I ate my prepared chia pudding.  This was simply a shop bought peach yogurt with chia seeds stirred in.  It was really nice because I don’t usually buy myself fruit yogurts – I try to steer clear of the added sugars – so it felt like a luxurious treat.  It wasn’t a fat free yogurt either. But it didn’t fill me up as much as I thought it would for something full of protein, good fats and fibre??
  • I went to yoga when I got home, and on to the gym to get a bit of a sweat on (I know, I know, but if i don’t get a sweat on I don’t feel that I’ve worked).  When I got home, I quickly grilled a peppered quorn steak and some red onion.  I added it to a corn mountain bread wrap with some spinach and broccoli pasta sauce (ingredients: Ripe Italian Tomato Purée (78%), Spinach (6%), Broccoli (4%), Carrots, Onions, Extra Virgin Olive Oil.).  I just realised I was supposed to add grated cheese – but I forgot.  I served some slices of Crown Prince Squash sprinkled with cinnamon on the side.  I’m not such a fan of Crown Prince – or at least this one, it doesn’t have much taste.  I much prefer the kabocha I had last week!

So last week I didn’t plan enough food, and ended up having to top up.  This week I planned and forgot to add stuff.  I feel like Goldilocks – perhaps next week I will get it ‘juuusst right’!

How many portions of fruit and veg to you eat in a day?  Do you ever plan your meals in advance and forget something?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #12

  1. ranchcookie April 2, 2014 at 9:36 am Reply

    Oh I without a doubt am in the 7-10 range! I love veggies especially roasted 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes April 2, 2014 at 1:29 pm Reply

      Well done you! I love roasted veg too – just out of the oven or cold over a salad – yummy!

  2. Welcome to Mommyhood April 2, 2014 at 12:35 pm Reply

    Really interesting about the veg! We fluctuate in my home, but generally do pretty well. Chia pudding sounds really, really good! Your meals all sound great!

    • Emily Hawkes April 2, 2014 at 1:30 pm Reply

      Thank you for stopping by, and for your kind words 🙂 Check back later in the week for a post on chia puddings.

  3. Liz @ Our Everyday love April 2, 2014 at 7:42 pm Reply

    Daaang look at all that yummy food!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

