What I ate Wednesday #11

Hello and Welcome to another What I ate Wednesday post πŸ™‚

This WIAW is from Monday when I was in the office.Β  You would have thought that I would have had plenty of time to plan and prep for a Monday – but alas, Sunday was Sport Relief, and after kicking the day off with a 1.5km swim, I was then running around until my family turned up for the Sport Relief mile in the afternoon.

Afterwards, when all had gone I had a soak in the bath, made a cake for Monday cake swap and that didn’t leave time for much else.Β  I managed to pull something together for Monday though:

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, apple, yogurt, guacamole, bounce, almond, wrap, egg, apple, carrot, salad, lentil, curry, rice, chia, raspberry, overnight oats, egg, omelette, egg white

What I ate Wednesday

  • Breakfast was pumpkin overnight oats, made with jumbo rolled oats, tinned pumpkin, and almond milk, with a small bit of ginger traybake crumbled over the top. On the side I had egg white omelette mixed with a teaspoon of low fat pesto.
  • I made myself a raspberry chia pudding with raspberries, chia seeds and almond milk.Β  It was a bit sharp so I stirred in some plain yogurt and a sprinkle of cacao nibs – didn’t help much 😦
  • For lunch I made an egg salad wrap with carrots on the side.Β  I didn’t think it was very much so I bought some guacamole from the shop at work and dipped my carrot sticks. I don’t usually buy guacamole – preferring to make my own, but it wasn’t bad πŸ™‚ I followed it with my usual apple and yogurt.
  • I ate an almond bounce ball on the coach on the way home, which powered me through a gym session and an x-biking class.
  • When I got home I cooked some brown basmati rice and heated some lentil curry that I had made in advance.Β  It had kombucha squash, aubergine, green lentils and tomato puree along with spices.

What have your eats looked like lately?Β  Do you buy things on the spur of the moment, or do you plan your meals in advance?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #11

  1. ranchcookie March 26, 2014 at 9:40 am Reply

    I used to buy things spur of the moment but I have been discovering that planing my meals has been saving me so much money πŸ™‚

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 8:54 am Reply

      I had a particularly low spend during my weekly shop – so I think I underestimated what I would need for the week πŸ™‚

  2. Marnie @ SuperSmartMama March 26, 2014 at 6:56 pm Reply

    I’m with you, I prefer to make my own guacamole over buying it at the store. I try to plan my dinners for the week, but I often deviate from that plan at some point during the week (usually Wednesday or Thursday!) I want to hear more about this cake swap!

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 8:56 am Reply

      Ha – it’s a group of friends who bake over the weekend and swap cakes after exercise classes on a Monday. It’s a great way to get a variety of cakes for lunchboxes/dessert all week. I’ll have to write a post on it sometime πŸ™‚

  3. Molly @ Fresh Basil For Two March 26, 2014 at 7:10 pm Reply

    I love egg white omelettes but I’ve never tried it with pesto! Going to have to do that πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 8:57 am Reply

      It was good to add a bit of ‘zing’ to my egg whites πŸ™‚

  4. Anne March 26, 2014 at 7:36 pm Reply

    Traybake? (Looking it up…) Something between a bar cookie and a sheet cake, in my terminology… Ginger crumbled over oatmeal – sounds good!

    I plan *for* meals (And did a whole discussion on my blog…) I make sure I always have food around – in the fridge or the freezer – that I can quickly and easily turn into a meal. It lets me go with a life I can’t always plan out exactly without finding myself buying a lot of spur of the moment impulse foods.

    Better for both finances and eating the way I want to.

    Though yes – every once in a while, if a carried lunch feels light – I underestimated either how much food I had or how hungry I’d be – I’ll pick something up, since I don’t have my cabinets to go to, the way I do for dinner. I see *supplementing* a meal differently than having to get the whole meal. (If I were doing it all the time, I’d reevaluate what I was carrying…)

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 9:01 am Reply

      I think traybake (tray bake) might be a British thing. I usually meal plan – but you can run the risk of underestimating how much you need/how long your breakfast will sustain you. Sometimes you need to deviate according to what your body needs. I’ll check out your blog post πŸ™‚

  5. jessielovestorun March 26, 2014 at 11:19 pm Reply

    The raspberry chia pudding looks good! I usually always plan meals ahead. It saves me time & works.

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 9:02 am Reply

      I used to plan a week in advance, but it took so long. I now tend to plan the day before according to what I fancy/what I have in the house – this time I guess I underestimated.

  6. […] was my What I ate Wednesday day – so you will already have seen my pumpkin overnight oats sprinkled with some ginger cake […]

Leave a Reply

