Rambutan: How to

I promised this post, I’m sorry it took me a while to get it up.  I recently bought these funny little fruits to try:

rambutan

rambutan

Although related to the lychee, these are actually rambutan.

I like trying new things, so I thought I would give them a go.  I had to google them though, and the first thing I learned was how to prepare them.

how to, rambutan, eat, peel, lychee,

rambutan preparation

They are nice, and have a light sweet flavour – very similiar to a lychee.  You can also eat the seed in the middle – it’s crunchy, sort of nutty – but I’m told to avoid the papery skin over the seed:

“Some varieties have bitter seeds; others have sweet seeds, presumably containing negligible amounts of tannins or alkaloids. In the latter case, one can eat the entire fruit, seed and all (but not the outer skin)”

I put some of them into a green smoothie, with spinach, banana and almond milk.  The rest I threw into some overnight oats – they added a fresh sweetness which I really liked.

rambutan, overnight oats,

rambutan oats

And I’m pleased to report that I completed my 1.5k swim yesterday morning, and did the 1 mile run with some of my family in the afternoon  – yay to us!  And I got two medals 🙂

Sport Relief Mile

Sport Relief Mile

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Rambutan: How to

  1. Marnie @ SuperSmartMama March 26, 2014 at 7:02 pm Reply

    Those rambutan look very interesting! Probably a good idea to try them in a smoothie since you’d never had them before.

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 8:57 am Reply

      It was good – but you don’t get the benefit of the flavour and texture when you blend it with other fruit/veg – I was happier with it in the overnight oats as at least I got little pieces 🙂

  2. threeteaspoonsofsugar March 27, 2014 at 8:26 am Reply

    Interesting. I should see if I can find it in Auckland.

    • Emily Hawkes March 27, 2014 at 9:03 am Reply

      I’d never seen them before, but I love to try something new when I see it 🙂

Leave a Reply

