Paying it Forward #7

Welcome to week 7 of paying it forward.  I’m still coming up with new ideas 🙂

pay it forward, random acts of kindness, gifts

pay it forward

This week my ‘paying it forward’ acts have come in all shapes and sizes 🙂

I saw this book in a local shop.  It’s a book of friendship with one message for each day.  Yesterday’s WIAW post included a poem which came from this book. Ok, so we’re part way through March, and I wondered if it was worth it – but yes, there are still 41 weeks or so of the year.  I thought it would be the perfect gift for my friend who signed up to my Facebook Paying It Forward post which got this whole thing started.

She lives a long way away so I’d been racking my brains for what I could send her.  I did consider flowers, but I’ve sent flowers as a birthday or get well gift.  I hope this book and the letter I wrote to accompany it brings joy 🙂

While I was at it, I bought one for my Nanny, which I passed on this week.  she gave me one of these books a few years ago, so I knew she would like it – and she was pleased to get it 🙂

At the other end of the paying it forward spectrum, I met a friend for coffee last week.  We hadn’t met up for what felt like a long while and it was great for a catch up.  My friend paid for the coffee 🙂  A few days later another friend was feeling down in the dumps so on the spur of the moment I messaged her, and arranged to meet for coffee – this time I paid.  I think that is the textbook definition of paying it forward! 🙂

Finally, I was having a sort out of my magazines.  I would usually give old fitness magazines to the gym – but I split them in half and gave some to a friend at the gym, and passed the rest to my colleague to give to his finacee.  I got that lovely handmade note to say thank you – it goes to show that small gestures can mean a lot to a person!

I haven’t included it in the collage picture because I only just thought about it.  I arranged to meet my Mum for a walk on Saturday.  When she turned up I decided that we would go to the local Dartmoor Zoo for the afternoon.  I wouldn’t have suggested it if I hadn’t seen their late opening hours on Facebook.  So I treated Mum to an afternoon there.  It was lovely, and totally spur of the moment.

dartmoor zoo, lioness

Dartmoor Zoo

What have you done to pay it forward this week?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

