Paying it forward #6

I’ve had a busy week.  I was away for a long weekend, and I’ve been busy either side.  So, I was racking my brains trying to remember what I had done to ‘pay it forward‘.  I thought I was going to have to break into some of my back up ideas.  But then I realised – I gave blood this week.  If that’s not an act of kindness I don’t know what is!

I didn’t do a ‘selfie’ or anything to how to represent it pictorally?

pay it forward

Pay it forward #6

According to Blood.co.uk each time you donate you can help up to 3 people! and yet only 4% of adults are donors.

I appreciate that they have rules, and certain people are not allowed to give blood – hey, I wasn’t allowed to give for about 18 months when my weight dropped below the threshold.  But now I am back giving again.

Giving blood is a great way to ‘pay it forward’:

“During a whole blood donation [they] aim to take just under a pint (about 470mls) of blood, which works out at no more than 13 per cent of your blood volume. After donation, your body has an amazing capacity to replace all the cells and fluids that have been lost.”

For those in the UK who want to give blood – check out your nearest session on the Blood Donation website.

How have you paid it forward this week?

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Paying it forward #6

  1. travelinthecountrysidebeinkind March 6, 2014 at 10:21 am Reply

    I am in total agreement with you. Giving blood, no matter where you are, is a beautiful gift. I am a blood donor recipient and heroes are made everyday through this simple act of selflessness. Thank you!

    • Emily Hawkes March 6, 2014 at 11:42 am Reply

      Thank you for your kind words. I’ve never (knowinly) spoken to a blood recipient before. It’s lovely to hear!

Leave a Reply

