Paying it forward week #5

Thoughtful Thursday, Random Act of Kindness, Paying it forwardHello and welcome to another Thoughtful Thursday.

Last week I raised the question of whether re-gifting/reusing/recycling counts as a kindness. Is ‘one man’s trash is another man’s treasure’ worthy of the title ‘random act of kindness’.  The response was that ‘yes’ these little tokens do count.

But a friend raised another question in response “What is a RANDOM act of kindness, as opposed to an act of kindness?” and that got me thinking.

act of kindness, pay it forward

Facebook comment

So my instant thought was random was unexpected – but who goes around expecting an act of kindness?

So I looked up the dictionary definition of random (thanks Google)

“odd, unusual, or unexpected.”

And I get where the thought is coming from, but I no longer want my acts of kindness to be odd or unusual – it is a part of who I am.  Therefore I will stick with paying it forward or acts of kindness.

Plus I got some new ideas 🙂

This week I was able to deliver my next Facebook: Paying it forward gift.  I wrapped it up and delivered a box of Raw Pre-workout.  I only used it a couple of times, but I prefer to use coffee as a pre-workout.  The recipient is a bit of a gym-buff so I hoped he would appreciate it.  I guess it’s the thought that counts *worried face*

My other act of kindness linked back to my previous bread baking.  I tried out a new gluten free bread recipe, and passed a few of the bread rolls on to the same friends as last time, alongside a hand written note and recipe for the friend’s mother-in-law who eats gluten free.  I can’t say it was the best bread, but she was touched by the effort (so I’m told 🙂 )

Finally, a colleague was struggling under a heavy workload. I offered to help, but it was one of those “I haven’t time to digest what you need to do for me” moments. So I just filled her water bottle for her.  Sometimes it’s the smallest things which make a big difference.  I think this was my favourite act of kindness this week.

What have you been up to this week? How have you been ‘paying it forward’?

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Paying it forward week #5

  1. […] guess that’s where RANDOM acts of kindness come in – you just do it randomly, when the mood takes you, or you see someone in need.  Not […]

Leave a Reply

