What I ate Wednesday #7

Sadly it is the last ‘Love your Veggies Month’ post.  Yes, the end of February is nigh.

To be honest I kind of left my WIAW to the last minute again (almost – this is Monday’s eats) so I had forgotten that it is Love your veggies Month – so how did I do without giving it much any thought?

WIAW, what I ate wednesday, lunch, dinner, snacks, breakfastNot too bad, if I do say so myself 🙂

  • I started the day with a green smoothie, made with: spinach, banana, blueberries, almond milk, vanilla protein powder, and with added spirulina, maca, lucuma and wheatgrass. On the side I had toasted gluten free bread with mashed banana.
  • I intended to have my nakd bar with a cup of tea, but the popcorn bag had burst in my rucksack – so I had my Proper Corn popcorn
  • For lunch I had beetroot hummus – made by blitzing cooked beetroot into shop bought hummus. I sandwiched it between a slice of toasted rye bread with some celery sticks on the side.  I followed my sandwich with plain yogurt and an apple.
  • I ate my nakd bar on the coach home. Cocoa delight – it was very nice indeed with chunks of cashew and a chocolately flavour – probably a bit high in sugar really, but hey, it’s good quality sugar! Probably for the best that I didn’t have the popcorn – that would have been more messy.
  • For dinner I had ‘lasagne’ that I made in advance.  I used Mountain corn wraps in place of pasta, and I used Quorn mince. I’m not sure how I feel about quorn. It’s low fat and a good vegetarian alternative to meat – but at the same time, it’s highly processed. It breaks the rules of not eating food that your Grandma wouldn’t recognise – and it took me a while to learn to say ‘quorn’ let alone ‘micoprotein’ – not something you come across at the local greengrocer or butcher (if you catch my drift).  Anyway, I had tomatoes and mushrooms in my lasagne with garlic and flavoured with a dash of vegan Worcester sauce.  Topped with cottage cheese and nutritional yeast for a cheesy flavour – it was yummy and I’m glad I left it for 24 hours – it was so much better!

Turns out it was another meatfree/meatless monday 🙂

So on the vegetable front I had: spinach, beetroot, (does the hummus count as some chickpeas???), celery, tomatoes and mushrooms – in addition I also had apple, banana, blueberries and dried fruit in the nakd bar.  I guess the corn wrap doesn’t count 🙂

I could have improved it by having more salad at lunchtime and serving my lasagne with a nice green side vegetable – perhaps broccoli or peas – yum!

Lent starts this time next week?  Do you observe it in anyway?  Get your thinking caps on 🙂

What have you been eating lately?  Have you been getting lots of veggies in?  How do you feel about Quorn products?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #7

  1. verbs and vignettes February 26, 2014 at 12:24 pm Reply

    i love the idea of adding beets to hummus! i found a recipe for homemade beet hummus, but store bought is so much easier and delicious than when i try to make it.

    oo, i didn’t realize lent was coming up that quickly. i will put my thinking cap on. :p

    • Emily Hawkes February 26, 2014 at 12:50 pm Reply

      Today I’ve made red pepper hummus with the same principle – yum! I like to make my own hummus when I have enough time 🙂

  2. brokencookiesdontcount February 26, 2014 at 12:43 pm Reply

    Love a good green smoothie. Beetroot hummus sounds delicious. Have a great day!

  3. catfoodisgoodforyou February 26, 2014 at 1:25 pm Reply

    I used to love quorn products (the mince is shockingly close to meat in taste isn’t it!) but now I stick with (good quality) real meat. Love those nakd bars – so addicting!

  4. savorlifesflavors February 26, 2014 at 11:16 pm Reply

    I’v been eating a lot of stews lately and trying to get in extra veggies! All my eats are up on my WIAW post from today!

    • Emily Hawkes February 27, 2014 at 8:17 am Reply

      Thanks for stopping by. Welcome to the party!

  5. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets February 27, 2014 at 2:26 pm Reply

    I’m not sure what I’m going to do for Lent yet, but I want to keep related to eating healthy!

    • Emily Hawkes February 28, 2014 at 6:59 am Reply

      Sometimes i find it’s as good to ‘take up’ a good habit rather than give up something 🙂

Leave a Reply

