Raisin cookies

I don’t want to share this recipe, I really don’t.  It’s my secret ingredient (ok, so plenty of people know so it’s not that secret), that makes these cookies so darn delicious.  And it works with all sorts of flavours.

I gave you a taster before Christmas when I shared two cookie recipes – my new cookies are a combination of the two.

It was a bit of a throw it together, and I didn’t measure out all the ingredients…

And perhaps I’ve been sharing too many sweet recipes lately, maybe I need to write up something savoury…No???

Ok, I’m stalling…but I promised some people this recipe, so I had better get on and share it…

Raisin cookies, mincemeat, flour, condensed milk, butterAs I said, it was a bit throw it all together, I didn’t have enough butter, so I had to make do with what I had, and it worked. I had an opened jar of mincemeat so I just threw it in without measuring.

I didn’t intend to share the recipe, but I was asked for it, so hey, here it is on the blog 🙂

I’m sure the condensed milk it key to a chewy centre and a crispy edge – yum!

Raisin Cookies

  • 180g unsalted butter
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 170g condensed milk, light
  • 300g self-raising flour
  • 50g oatbran (optional, just use more flour if you don’t have any)
  • 1/3 large jar or 1/2 small jar mincemeat (approx 150-200g)
  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/400F
  2. In a large bowl, melt the butter and the mincemeat together.  Add the sugar and condensed milk. Fold in the flour and oat bran.
  3. Take a small handful of dough and flatten with your fingers. Place onto a silicone baking mat or lined baking trays, allowing for room for spreading and bake for about 15-18 minutes or until golden brown at the edges, but still a little soft. Leave to cool slightly and set before transferring to a cooling rack.
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

