What I ate Wednesday #5

So Jenn has added a new challenge by making this Love your Veggies Month.  I love my veggies EVERY month so I don’t mind this challenge at all!

In fact, I’ve been a bit more veggie than usual so far this February.  Here’s one day last week:

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, Snacks, breakfast, lunch, dinner, WIAW, love your veggies

So I must have had my 5 a day plus more here!

  • I started the day with a green smoothie.  In here was spinach, banana, frozen blueberries, rice milk, spirulina and maca.
  • Come mid-morning I was peckish so I made a small bowl of oatbran porridge, I added some chia seeds and I had a sachet of strawberry protein powder open so I threw some in.  I could have added some fruit or maybe courgette if I had any, but I made it in the microwave at work so I had to work with what I had.
  • For lunch I had a slice of toasted gluten free bread spread with a dip made from cannellini beans and cottage cheese with some herb mix thrown in.  I topped it with roasted broccoli (yum!!) and a crunchy carrot stick on the side.  Followed up with an apple and yogurt.
  • I saved most of the carrot and some dip for an afternoon snack before I went to the gym.  My RowFit class had a cover instructor and I thought she was going to kill me 🙂 My lungs thought they were going to explode!  Pyramid workouts and tababta training galore!
  • While I was at class Ben baked a jacket sweet potato which I topped with steamed rainbow chard and some cauliflower alfredo sauce. It’s totally my new favourite – I made it three times last week! I added in some tofu for extra protein.

So on the veggie front, I had: spinach, cannellini beans (80g+ of beans counts as a portion of veg), broccoli, carrot, sweet potato, rainbow chard and cauliflower.  In addition I also had banana, apple and blueberries.

apple, yogurt,

apple and yogurt

In our time together Ben and I have had many random conversations (usually initiated by me) including: if you could only have one biscuit for the rest of your life, what would it be; what would be your ideal roast dinner; and if you could only eat one vegetable for the rest of your life, what would it be?

I couldn’t answer that last one – the idea upset me too much! One vegetable for the rest of my life?  Does that include lettuce?  Salad comes with it’s own category sometimes.  What about tomatoes – technically they’re a fruit, but you wouldn’t put them in a fruit salad. I love too many veg to be able to pick one!  Incidentally, Ben’s answer was carrots.

Do you enjoy your veggies?  If you could ONLY eat one veggie for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #5

  1. Jen@Twenty-Something&Starving February 12, 2014 at 2:35 pm Reply

    Good job on the veggie front! I don’t think it’s possible to pick just ONE veggie to eat forever. Maybe spinach – since it’s so versatile? But I also go through like 6 bell peppers a week!!

    • Emily Hawkes February 13, 2014 at 1:47 pm Reply

      Spinach is versatile, and I do eat some most days, but how about cauliflower, that’s versatile too. There are too many good veg out there! 🙂

  2. Julie February 13, 2014 at 4:07 am Reply

    I’d go with avocado, whether it’s a fruit or veggie… I don’t know.

    • Emily Hawkes February 13, 2014 at 1:46 pm Reply

      Oh yes, I don’t eat avocado every day, but I’d hate to go without it.

Leave a Reply

