What I ate Wednesday #3

Ok, so I’ve done many more than 3 WIAWs, but because I started by doing ‘themes’ I’ve lost track of how many I’ve posted – Oops 🙂 So here we are at number 3 of pure ‘What I ate Wednesday‘.  I wrote that one day I’ll get around to creating a page to bring them all together, “Promise”! And I have.  Check out my previous WIAW posts

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, Montage, porridge, cappuccino, co yo, coconut yogurtSo what did I eat on this fine day.  Actually it was last Wednesday that I recorded these meals.  It was my first double yogalates session in the evening, so things were all change.  I usually go to the gym at 6pm, then eat afterwards when I get home. But these new yoga classes are 6.30-8.30pm, so it’s a bit later when I get home.

Ben is also out on Wednesday evening at the moment, so it’s just me.  My idea was that I would have a light dinner/snack before the class – a bit later than my typical afternoon snack – then have some protein ice cream/berries when I got home afterwards.

Looking back, I didn’t realise how bland my meals looked that day – need more greens!  So what did I have?

  • I started the day with cocoa porridge with banana and spinach.  Oh yeah, I threw in a handful of chopped up spinach into my porridge as it cooked – a great way to increase your daily veg!
  • Mid morning I went and got a cappuccino, the creamy milk kept me going until lunch.
  • For my lunch I made a ‘coleslaw‘ of red cabbage and carrot in the cauliflower alfredo recipe that I menioned last week.  I had 3 portions of veg there in that bowl and a bit of tofu crumbled over.  It doesn’t look very impressive though.
  • I followed it with a tub of Co Yo coconut yogurt. Yum! it was like eating very tasty coconut snow. I had to laugh because it says it is 1.25 portions in a tub – who wants to leave a quarter portion.  I ate it all, but ended up with a tummy ache afterwards 😦 Too much fat? Too much fibre? Could it have been the raw veg in my coleslaw?  I don’t know.
  • The coconut yogurt didn’t fill me up as much as the real yogurt and apple I had in last week’s post, so I found myself hungry again 2 hours later.  I kept going until I got home from work, and made myself tuna on rye toast with a side of peas.  Those were the only visible greens all day! Rubbish!  But it kept me going in yogalates without feeling that I was going to hurl doing the downward dog 🙂
  • When I got home I whizzed up some tofu with frozen blueberries and a little strawberry protein powder.  It was like delicious berry ice cream.  That was probably my favourite ‘meal’ of the day!
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday #3

  1. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com January 29, 2014 at 8:08 pm Reply

    That’s n awesome idea to add chopped spinach to oats! BRILLIANT!

    • Emily Hawkes January 30, 2014 at 8:39 am Reply

      Any way of squeezing a few more greens. Courgette/zucchini also works well in oats (zoats!)

  2. Julie@teachinggoodeaters January 30, 2014 at 2:20 am Reply

    Followed and pinned the link for the cauliflower Alfredo! Holy Moly, this could be life changing. I have two kids who are dairy free and I really missing all things creamy! Thanks for sharing!!

    • Emily Hawkes January 30, 2014 at 8:38 am Reply

      So glad I could share it with you. I used it to make a spelt risotto more creamy this week – great recipe!

Leave a Reply

