WIAW: What I ate Wednesday

Hello and welcome to another What I ate Wednesday. I got a bit lost this last week and left it all to the last minute, so this is what I ate yesterday.

What I ate Wednesday, WIAW, breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, tea, meal ideas, inspirationI started the day with scrambled eggs on gluten free Rice and Sunflower toast with a side of spinach.

I had half an artichoke left from dinner the night before (a spur of the moment buy at the supermarket) so I made a pumpkin/dijon/nutritional yeast dip, and had that as my morning snack.  I was feeling down so I managed to get through two coffees before I ate this, I didn’t photograph them though you know what coffee looks like, and anyway this is what I ATE not what I drank (but if you must know, I was also on the green tea).

Lunch was going to be spaghetti and peas with homemade kale pesto, but I saw this cauli-power ‘alfredo’ sauce on Oh She Glows and just had to make my pasta sauce more ‘saucy’ – could have done with some garlic, but otherwise awesome.  It’s green because I added in avocado and kale (not as much as I would have done if I had kept it as a pesto). I bulked it out with more slim pasta, but I’m not convinced by it.

Oh the spur of the moment, I went and bought an apple and some yogurt from the shop at work – it was nicely satisfying, and kept me from my afternoon sugar craving.  I kept happily going until I was on the train home, and even turned my nose up at some marshmallows 🙂

I made a banana and rice milk hot chocolate when I got home, much better than the pumpkin cocoa the night before.  It was light but fillilng and gave me enough energy to get through my yoga class, followed by an abdominal circuit class.  I didn’t have much patience for the Abs class though 😦

Which is perhaps why I managed to polish off most of my stirfry before I remembered that I was supposed to be photographing it for my WIAW post – oops! You will be able to see some red cabbage, carrots, calabrese broccoli (from the farmers’ market) and tofu, it was all flavoured by tamari sauce.  Another reason not to leave your WIAW to the last minute.

What are you eating lately?

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “WIAW: What I ate Wednesday

  1. Kaitlin January 22, 2014 at 2:56 pm Reply

    There are days where I can’t stand to sit in some workout classes. This is probably why yoga is a fail for me. That kale pesto sounds perfect! If I had a food processor, I’d be making that weekly!

    • Emily Hawkes January 22, 2014 at 4:22 pm Reply

      Oh! The thought of not having a food processor is so sad 😉 Mine is only a mini-chopped style, but perfect for my needs (until I can afford something more high-powered!)

  2. Nichole C January 22, 2014 at 3:10 pm Reply

    I have never heard of sunflower bread, I have to investigate this! 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes January 22, 2014 at 4:21 pm Reply

      It’s Rice and Sunflower, made by Biona, definitley worth having a look out for it 🙂

  3. Dana @ Conscious Kitchen Blog January 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm Reply

    I have my eye on the Oh She Glows cauli-power alfredo! Sounds like it turned out pretty good for you. I’m going to have to try it!

    • Emily Hawkes January 22, 2014 at 9:26 pm Reply

      Definitely give it a go, I tweaked it a bit for what I had in the kitchen, but I think Angela’s will be awesome!

  4. Carolyn@SmallThingsTrilogy January 23, 2014 at 3:31 pm Reply

    Yum! Oh She Glow’s Alfredo sauce is my fav too! I love it with pureed pumpkin! How do you make your artichoke? Fresh artichoke has always been extremely intimating to me lol.

    • Emily Hawkes January 24, 2014 at 9:13 am Reply

      Mmm…I made a pumpkin alfredo sauce last night – yum! I just chopped the top off the artichoke and put it in the slow cooker for about an hour until the leaves could be pulled out easily.

Leave a Reply

