WIAW: What I ate Wednesday

So it’s back to the new year and back to eating as healthily as I can (ok, so I didnt’ really go in for lots of unhealthy stuff over Christmas and New Year) but here’s a days eats:

WIAW, What I ate Wednesday, green smoothie, kale, meatballs, tuna salad, healthy hot chocolate, applem buckwheat bread

What I ate Wednesday

I showed you my breakfast in my ‘week of…breakfast‘ post.  I inadvertently combined sweet (apple and cottage cheese mixed with strawberry protein powder) with very savoury buckwheat bread. I just wish i’d read the ingredients list properly before serving – garlic and onion would have clued me in 🙂

apple, buckwheat bread, raw, cottage cheese, protein powderMid morning I had a green smoothie which I took to work in a jar.  In it I had spinach, cucumber, frozen summer berrries, strawberry protein powder and spirulina.  I promise you it tasted better than it looks

green smoothie, berries, spinach, cucumber, protein powder

green smoothie

For lunch I had a delicious tuna salad

tuna, hummus, roasted vegetables, soya beans, avocado, butternut squash, cauliflower

Tuna and hummus salad

Half a tin of tuna with a handful of cooked soya beans, avocado, homemade hummus and roasted cauliflower and butternut squash.

When I got home I quickly made a healthy hot chocolate from almond milk, tinned pumpkin and raw cacao powder with a sprinkle of cinnamon before I went to my rowing class.

hot chocolate, cocoa, chocolate drink

hot chocolate

mmm…bubbles

When I got home I quickly made a dinner of turkey meatballs in tomato sauce over a bed of steamed kale, fresh from the Farmers’ Market – yummy! I threw some grated carrot into the meatball mixture for extra veg.

meatballs, turkey, tomato

Turkey meatballs

Have you ever had an accidental and unexpected flavour combination?  Did it work?

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “WIAW: What I ate Wednesday

  1. Kaitlin January 15, 2014 at 9:05 pm Reply

    Woohoo for kale!! I adore tossing it in a pan and sauteing for a few minutes. So delish 🙂

  2. Julie January 15, 2014 at 11:25 pm Reply

    I’ve been enjoying hot chocolate at night lately too. Perfect sweetness before bed.

    • Emily Hawkes January 16, 2014 at 9:30 am Reply

      Can’t believe I used to drink those low calorie hot chocolates, they are no where near as good as this healthy version!

  3. Becks January 17, 2014 at 2:41 am Reply

    I’m the queen of terrible flavour combinations. I always never (is that a thing?) read the packages to find out what’s inside. Or, when I do, it’s only when I spend 1.5 hours at the grocery store.

    • Emily Hawkes January 17, 2014 at 8:51 am Reply

      Haha! It really does take ages if you check all the ingredients of everything 🙂 I’m sure I looked when I bought them, but forgot by the time I served it 🙂

Leave a Reply

