Cod with low fat cheese sauce – gluten free

Right, I had really better get back into posting.  I’ve had some time off, and now I’m back 🙂

So where should I start?  Well, in honour of New Years Resolutions, I’m posting a low fat, healthy take on an old favourite.

I remember when I was small and my Mum would eat those boil in the bag fish dinners with rice.  If I came downstairs and saw her eating one, I would sit and watch until she had finished hoping for a bite.

Ok, so my idea of food heaven is no longer white fish, with white rice in a white sauce :-/ so I recreated a healthy version which will soon have you feeling fit, not fat after the Christmas indulgences.

cod, low fat, cheese sauce, dairy, soft cheese

Did you know that eating dairy helps you to lose weight?  Read this from Women’s Health Mag

Cutting back on the amount of dairy you eat can signal your body to make more fat cells, according to a study in The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. When you don’t have enough calcium in your body, it tries to hold on to what’s there. This triggers the release of a compound called calcitriol, which increases the production of fat cells. Eating extra calcium suppresses calcitriol, which breaks down fat and makes your fat cells leaner and your tummy flatter. So enjoy the moo juice, yogurt, or a little cheese. Because dairy does tend to be high in calories, keep your portions small or stick to low-fat varieties.

Moo juice? Love it!
Anyway, this cheese sauce contains extra low fat cheese, that’s not that I put extra in it, that it’s only 3% fat.
I made the sauce extra cheesy by adding nutritional yeast.  If you are a regular on my blog you will know I like my nutritional yeast, if not know this: It is a source of protein and vitamins, especially B vitamins, and is a complete protein. It is also naturally low in fat and salt and is free of sugar, dairy, and gluten.

I bulked my cheese sauce out further with kabocha squash, but butternut squash will work just as well.

Cod with low fat cheese sauce

  • 25g 3% fat soft cheese
  • 80g cooked squash flesh
  • 8g nutritional yeast
  • 125g cod fillet
  • brown and wild rice to serve
  • broccoli to serve
  1. To make the cheese sauce, put the soft cheese, squash and nutritional yeast in a food processor and blitx until smooth.  Add water a splash at a time to reach your desired consistency.
  2. Meanwhile boil the rice in the bottom of a tiered steamer, and add the cod and broccoli to the layers.
  3. Once cooked, serve the rice, broccoli and cod.
  4. Gently heat the sauce in the saucepan you used for your rice, and pour over to serve.
  5. Enjoy!

cod, cheese, low fat, sauce, butternut squash, squash, kabocha,

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

