Detox so far, review

So, I’ve now been on the detox for 2 weeks.  Have I been perfect?  No!  I’ve tried to use the guidelines to stay healthy and avoid adding a few pre-Christmas pounds.

I’ve enjoyed some stunning recipes, and embraced raw food, despite the cold weather.  I’ve been eating frozen smoothies, and salads galore – thank goodness we don’t have the cold that others are experiencing at the moement!

detox, review, raw til 4, vegan, rawClockwise from the top: tempeh with zoodles (courgette noodles), leek strips and brussels sprouts; chicken salad with roasted vegetables and almond ‘cheese’; chocolate chip mousse – vegan with added spinach; maqui berry mousse; raw salad with cauliflower tabbouleh, shredded carrot, almond ‘cheese’ and some naughty grapes; grain-free savoury porridge stuffed mushroom; cashew slaw; raw broccoli, carrot and kale salad with tahini dressing.

I started very well, and dropped a 3 pounds in the first day.  But since then it hasn’t been going so great.  A pound keeps coming back, and then off again.  I think it’s because I cheat because it’s so hard to maintain.  Cheating seems to have improved my mood. I was very short tempered to begin with and kept picking fights with Ben – sorry love 😦

I’ve found that my fitness has dropped.  I find my usual exercise so much harder than usual, and when I do my weekly fit test in the gym my VO2 Max has dropped each week.

I also keep waking up early – I’m usually hungry and needing the loo, then I can’t get back to sleep.  It’s tough on two counts – it gives me more time in the kitchen and I am tempted to pick at things, and also my resolve is lower when I’m tired.

Beware TMI: I’ve had ‘toilet trouble’ as well.  I think the spirulina has turned things an interesting shade of green-khaki, and I’m either constipated or pooping for Britain!  And I won’t go into details about the wind… 😦

Because I’ve changed so much of my diet on the detox it’s hard to pinpoint what is causing the negative effects.  I’ve cut out grains, dairy, caffeine and anything cooked until my afternoon snack onwards which has reduced my protein.  At the same time I’ve increased my fat intake in the form of nuts and seeds, and increased my raw vegetables – I’ve read about high oxalic acid and phytates in a raw diet.

I’m finding the ‘raw ’til 4′ tough!  Nancy has been posting recipes in the 80:10:10 ratio – great for raw vegan food – but then commented that she felt her metabolism slowing down so she increased her protein.  It’s hard to get enough protein when you don’t eat cooked food until after 4!

I’ve had troubles on a low carb diet before, but I’ve read that you can train your body from carb-burning to fat and protein-burning.

For the remaining few days I’m going to stop raw ’til 4.  If I want eggs for breakfast or some meat or fish with my dinner I can have it, and see if that makes any difference.

Have you ever tried a low carb or raw diet?  Did you have any of the effects I’m experiencing?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Detox so far, review

  1. jmlol December 23, 2013 at 1:14 am Reply

    The only time I tried the low carb stuff, I got bad breath that could raze a forest. I was a meat lover (and I still do love me some meat), was a vegetarian, and am vegan. I go for the gold metal in number two too. It’s part of the vegan/vegetarian deal, so you definitely shouldn’t be getting the rabbit poo. There is definitely some kind of unbalanced eating going on, so try seeing how long it takes things to go through your system. That might help you figure out what days diet are causing which malady.

    • Emily Hawkes December 23, 2013 at 7:02 am Reply

      Haha! Thanks for the suggestion. I’m also drinking a lot more water so I wonder if that has anything to do with it 🙂

      • jmlol December 23, 2013 at 4:36 pm

        It’s probably not the water 🙂

      • Emily Hawkes December 24, 2013 at 7:44 am

        🙂

Leave a Reply

