WIAW: Christmas parties on a detox

So detoxing during the run up to Christmas sounds like a fab idea – you will feel great on the big day itself, you will avoid piling on the pounds and look great in that new outfit.

But of course, you have to navigate the Christmas parties.  And in addition, it was Ben’s birthday this weekend – roll on the birthday cake

birthday cake, cookie, layer cake, cookie layer cake, peanut butter, choc chip cookie, biscuit

Ben’s birthday cake

I didn’t have a slice, but I may have had a nibble or two of the mixture while I was making it :-/ Not detox friendly at all!!!

So what did I eat at our Christmas party, and Ben’s birthday – well, I tried to stay on track.  Here it is:

WIAW, montage, Christmas party, detox, feel sexier in 20 days, 3 course meal, salad, melon, What I ate WednesdayI started the day with a healthy concoction of my own – a coconut and cashew maqui mousse.  I filled up on some good fats with the cashew nuts and chia seeds, added in almond milk and maqui powder, and I stirred in a dollop of coconut yogurt before serving.

maqui, mousse, cashew, chia, coconut yogurt

WIAW breakfast

I was up mega early, and when that happens I lose all resolve, so I ended up nibbling on cake mixture while I put together Ben’s cake.  Thankfully I followed it up with two back-to-back exercise classes to work it all off.

When I got home I made Ben a cup of tea and cut him a slice of cake – that’s his piece above.  I had a peppermint and liquorice tea and some homemade kale chips (made on the dehydrator – so still raw), made with a dressing of tofu cream cheese mixed with nutritional yeast.

WIAW, what I ate wednesday, kale chips, vegan cheese

WIAW snack

We walked into town and picked up a bit of shopping before I made lunch.

wiaw, lunch, detox salad, beetroot, kale, A detox salad make from kale, raw beetroot, spring onions, parsley walnuts and pumpkin seeds.  I made a dressing of wholegrain mustard and cider vinegar.

We went to the hotel for our Christmas party to meet my sister and brother-in-law.  They went off to the swimming pool and sauna while we settled in and had a look around.

Time soon came for us to get ready and go down for our meal.  Alcohol is off the menu, so I stuck to water all night.  Thankfully I’m not a big drinker, but I did meniton that it was Ben’s birthday

WIAW, what I ate wednesday, Christmas party dinner, christmas pudding, turkey dinner, melon starterI chose the menu before I even knew about the detox so I was glad to find that my starter choice of melon was on the low fructose list of fruits allowed.  I just left the winterberry sauce.

The turkey dinner wasn’t bad – I gave the sausage and the stuffing away, and poured the gravy onto Ben’s plate – Happy birthday love!  I served myself a nice portion of sprouts (overcooked) and carrots and I stayed away from the cranberry sauce on the table.

For dessert I had ordered the christmas pudding with no brandy sauce or cream.  Dried fruit are not allowed on the detox, so I had one mouthful – just to try it and left the rest.  To be honest, I probably woudn’t have done any different if I hadn’t been on the detox – I’m not a big pudding eater anyway.

Then we partied the night away!

Christmas party

Lucy’s cracker toy

How do you cope with your dietary needs when you eat out?  Is it particularly difficult at Christmas?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “WIAW: Christmas parties on a detox

  1. brokencookiesdontcount December 18, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

    Detoxing is a good idea. I think we eat WAY to much unnecessary stuff this time of year. I’m a Weight Watchers lifetime member so I pretty much follow my plan and work in a few treats. It works. Have a great day!

    • Emily Hawkes December 18, 2013 at 9:06 pm Reply

      Congratulations on being a Weight Watchers lifer 🙂 It’s great that you’ve found a way to enjoy some treats while keeping your weight under control!

  2. Kaitlin December 18, 2013 at 1:50 pm Reply

    As every will note, the holidays are tough because it seems to be the season to bring all the cake and cookies to work and parties. I try to center most of my lunches and dinners around vegetables and protein and space out my sweets but that doesn’t always work out. I’ve been religiously munching on chocolate oreo bark as a pairing to my spaghetti squash dinner 🙂 Love that you took a couple workout classes too! I did that and it helped.

    • Emily Hawkes December 18, 2013 at 9:07 pm Reply

      Thank you for stopping by and your message. Chocolate oreo bark sounds amazing!

  3. […] top What I ate Wednesday post was my Christmas party on a detox […]

Leave a Reply

