Raw vegan lasagne

It’s time for another detox meal.  It seems every raw food blogger out there has posted a raw vegan lasagne.

To be honest, the idea never appealed to me.  Perhaps I liked real lasagne too much, perhaps I didn’t want to be eating so many nuts in one go, perhaps I just didn’t want a plate full of raw courgette and cucumber.

BUT now I am on the detox, I was willing to give it a go.

I checked out a few recipes, and then decided to combine the ideas to create my own.  I’m sure this one has been done to death, I just happened to look at other blogs.

raw, vegan, lasagne, detox, cashew cheese, basil, spinach pesto, pumpkin seeds, courgette, tomato, zucchini

It was actually yummy, and very filling.  I’ll be making it again, but I wonder how it would transport in my lunchbox :-/

It did make me wonder about the omega 3:6 ratio of all the nuts and seeds on this detox?  But I guess as all processed foods are out, and (preferably organic grass-fed) meat and fish, including oily fish (obviously not grass-fed, that’s the meat) then that should enable a better ratio.

Raw vegan lasagne

  • 30g cashew nuts, soaked
  • 10g nutritional yeast
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 medium courgette
  • 1/2 small avocado
  • couple of handfulls of spinach, approx 50g
  • basil leaves
  • 10g pumpkin seeds
  • 1 clove garlic
  1. To make the cashew cream: soak your cashew nuts in water for approx 5 hours (this is how long I soaked them).  Drain and put in a food processor with the nutritional yeast.  Add a dash of water and blend until smooth.  If it’s too thick add a dash more water. Put it aside.
  2. To make the spinach pesto: wipe your food processor, and add the spinach, garlic, avocado and basil.  Process until smooth.  Add a dash of water, or olive oil if that floats your boat.  I’m sure avocado oil would be great here too!
  3. To assemble: slice the tomato thinly.  slice the courgette lengthways on a mandoline, not too thin, you want it to hold up against the weight of the other ingredients.  Place a couple of slices of courgette on your plate. Top with slices of tomato.  On top of this add half your pesto, followed by half the courgette cheese.  Repeat the layering process.  Sprinkle with the pumpkin seeds.
  4. ENJOY

What are your thoughts on the omega fat ratio?  Have you made raw lasagne?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Raw vegan lasagne

  1. The Bookworm December 17, 2013 at 1:42 pm Reply

    Sorry, but this appears to be a salad.

    • Emily Hawkes December 17, 2013 at 3:55 pm Reply

      That seems to be a fair assessment 🙂 Maybe that’s what put me off initially. But please don’t spoil the image, I’m trying to liven up this life of raw vegan detox (essentially salads) 🙂

      • The Bookworm December 17, 2013 at 4:29 pm

        Deal. Thank you for your time.

Leave a Reply

