Quick turkey mince toad in the hole

It’s taken me a while to post this one.  Not a meal from my detox, but this is something I whipped up for Ben a while ago.  You might remember we were late back one night.  I had been planning something fun and yummy, but we were running out of time before Ben had to get to his night shift.

I threw a minature pumpkin in the oven for me, and in between making the filling for that one, I made this for Ben.

turkey, toad in the hole,. meatballs, batter, herbs I was wondering what else I could put in a batter – or a ‘toad in the hole’ if you will.  I was considering (and I still am) making something vegetarian – some sort of veggie sausage – and pouring batter over it.  But I didn’t have time for that, so I grabbed a handful of turkey mince and rolled it into balls.

Into the frying pan it went, with a lid on top to speed up the process.

While this was doing I made my ‘yorkshire pudding’ batter.  Normally you should leave the mixture to rest, so the glutens relax, but I didn’t have any time for that.

In went an egg, flour, milk, with a pinch of bicarbonate of soda and some fresh watercress: all whizzed together.

I poured it over the cooked meatballs and popped the lid back on for 5 minutes or so.  Then the lid came off and the entire frying pan went into the oven for a few minutes until it was cooked through.

I was so pleased that it worked – then I wished I had made more of an effort to properly track what I was doing.

It’s all in a good batter.  I think my basic batter goes: 1 egg to 50g of flour and enough milk to make it into a double cream consistency.

Can you see the little turkey meatball?  I served it with cooked broccoli and a salad.  Dinner on the table within half an hour…RESULT!!!!!!  And the leftovers went into Ben’s packed lunch…DOUBLE RESULT!!!

turkey, watercress, toad in the hole, salad,

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

