Pecan pie

I get my inspiration from all over the place.  Healthy recipes from blogs I follow or cookbooks I read; healthy recipes that I have come up with myself using ingredients I have or a non-healthy recipe that I adapt; sometimes I like to make less healthy treats for loved ones, or to indulge in a new recipe that caught my eye.

This was made because I had a load of pecan’s left after my Thanksgiving dinner.  I considered making a healthy pecan pie – there are loads of recipes about, but I decided that I would do this one ‘properly’ for those who are happy to have an indulgence on sweet things every once in a while.

I still changed up the recipe though.  I had some light consdensed milk knocking around, so i replaced the golden syrup.  People were complementing me on how good it was, and not too sweet!  Well, now you know 🙂

pecan pie, pastry, pie, condensed milk

pecan pie

Pecan Pie

If making your own pastry:

  • 200g plain flour, plus extra for dusting
  • 115g unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • a little cold water

Or

  • a packet of shortcrust pastry

For the pie filling

  • 70g unsalted butter
  • 100g light muscovado sugar
  • 140g light condensed milk (regular will be fine too)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste, or vanilla essence
  • 115g pecan nuts
  1. If using shop bought pastry skip to stage 2: place the flour in a bowl and rub in the butter with your fingertips until it resembes breadcrumbs.  Stir in the caster sugar and add enough cold water to mix to a firm dough.  Wrap in clingfilm for 15 minutes until firm enough to roll out.
  2. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface and use it to line a tart tin, approx 23cm in diameter.  Prick the base of the pastry with a fork.  Chill for 15 minutes.
  3. While the pastry case is chilling, preheat oven to 200C.  Place the tart tin on a baking tray and line the pastry with a sheet of baking paper and some baking beans.  Dried beans etc. will work if you don’t have baking beans.  Bake blind for 10 minutes.  Remove the baking beans and paper and bake for another 5 minutes.  Reduce temperature to 180C.
  4. To make the filling place the butter, sugar, and condensed milk in a pan and heat gently until melted.  Remove from heat and quickly beat in the eggs and vanilla.
  5. Coarsely chop the pecans and stir into the mixture.  Pour into the pastry case and bake for 35-40 minutes until the filling is just set.  Serve warm or cold.

pecan pie, lower sugarWhere do you go for your recipe inspiraton? Have you ever made anything from a recipe on a blog?

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

